5 stars (2)

Childminder in South Norwood

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2016 Last Updated Nov 2018 Last Login 18 Dec 2018 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

Full - please feel free to contact me for advice.

Hello parents and carers,

As an Ofsted registered childminder with the necessary level 3 childcare qualification I am able and legal to deliver the privileged service of care for children in their early years and beyond. I enjoy using the EYFS guidelines in my setting and am a member of Professional Association for Childcare and Early Childcare (PACEY)

Ofsted have approved my premises for over night care.

Additionally, I am also qualified as a level 2/3 Teaching Assistant - Ofqual dated March 2016.

My personality is upbeat, bubbly and energetic. I am honest and reliable. I believe I am a loyal person and pride myself by my passionate character. I stand by my word, try hard in everything I do. Self motivated to get out and do something at every opportunity.

Since having my children I am excited how young people learn and how adults can support the natural nurturing and memory building in our young peoples' minds. Confidence is not always natural, however, you can build it through experiences and the right life skills education.

Health and good food is very important to me and my family. Every week we like to try something new different to open up healthy food favourites.

Traveling and culture is a passion. I have many different cultures in my family and we love learning about new places. My family lives all over the world. I so appreciate this because I believe I'm more tolerant because of the exposure to other cultures and beliefs.

I came to the UK from the Sapphire Coast of Australia for 3 months in 2000 while traveling Europe. I never left!. I bought a house here in South Norwood and married in 2005.

My husband and I have two daughters - 7 and 5 years old. Since the birth of my first child I started to delve into child development (as you can imagine) subsequently, developing a strong desire to spend more time in education involving young children. Its a special position being part of assisting a young one to develop confidence and become independent and happy. Thankfully, this desire has become a reality.

In April 2015 I embraced an opportunity to quit work in the city as a Legal PA and be at home while my eldest daughter began the transition into Reception at our local primary school. She is now in year 3 and I am now enjoying the privilege of supporting my 5 year old embark on her very own adventures in year 1.

My house has a play room, a reception room, separate kitchen and laundry, a toilet on the ground floor, upstairs we have a bespoke nursery for baibies with a solid permanent cot and naps during the day and overnight* childcare, a bathroom and an additional music* / play activity room utilising the household space and offers more scope in the winter months for variety.

*With regards to over night care, all bedding and sleeping arrangements are suitable for permanent arrangements.

I regularly arrange music and play sessions with other childminders at my setting and in public locations. This is a fine opportunity for the children to mix and mingle and get to know other children and their "back up Childminders". I enjoy this tight private network while still enjoying the public arrangements offered in our community.

We have a good sized back yard with a shed literally filled with resources and toys and extra room for sheltered play for outside activities in all weather conditions. Our back yard has a cubby-house, bikes, trikes, scooters and loads of early years fun like portable sand and water play, paints, music and role play activities etc.

Books!!! We all love books in our home and we have too many to count from all over the world and from many different walks of life and interests.

My premises is 2 minutes walk to South Norwood Library, the sport ground and playground and 10 minutes walk to South Norwood Lakes and Selhurst Children's Centre where I have been taking both my children for over 5 years.

5 minutes walk to Norwood Junction Train Station and about 10 minutes to Selhurst Train Station, bus stops within few minutes walk, including X68 (express bus to Russel Square - first stop Waterloo) and 468, 157, 75, 410, 197 and many others.

Closest schools - Heavers Farm and St Chad's, South Norwood Primary and Whitehorse Manor.

My Experience

Before living in London, I was heavily into Natural Horsemanship and used to instruct and assist children and adults, including any with additional or special needs, how to handle, ride and enjoy horses and life.

In 2015/2016 I worked as a Teaching Assistant for 5 - 6 y/o - year 1 - in a local primary academy (not my children's school).

I have experience with children of all ages and have always found ways to support them in my life through various friends and family and professionally.

Both my husband and I have the required enhanced DBS checks for our home address dated 01 June 2018

I have the required Paediatric Level 3 First Aid qualification dated 18 June 2016 (qualification extends to adults)

Additional certificates I will mention below.

References available, I welcome you to message me to request these.

My Qualifications

CACHE Level 3 - EYFS & Home-Based Childcare - July 2015

Level 2/3 Teaching Assistant and Supporting the Wider Curriculum - March 2016 (Ofqual - OCR)

Paediactic Infant and Child - Level 3 First Aid - 16 June 2016

Level 2 - Food Hygiene and Safety - October 2016

CPD -
Continued Professional Development Courses include:

Lead Professional - October 2016
Improving Children's Learning through Play - October 2016
Supporting Early Language Development - October 2016
Understanding Children's Rights - October 2016
The Prevent Duty - Level 2 - October 2016
Autism Awareness - October 2016
Data Prtection Act - October 2016
Safeguarding Young People - Level 2 - October 2015
Information Sharing and Consent - October 2016
Managing Ofsted Inspections (the new way)
Setting up Childminding Services - October t 2016

Safeguarding Children - Level 2 - May 2016
E- Safety - Risks to Children - May 2016
E-Safety for Parents - May 2016
Parent Partnerships - (this is very important to me) - May 2016
Working with Children and Families - 2015
Effective Communication with Children and Families - July 2016

I have many more additional training throughout 2017 & 2018 which can be viewed in my profile.

I engage in webinars kindly provided by childcare.co.uk almost weekly as an additional professional support and continued growth..

Relating to childcare and education only, however, should you wish to know more about previous qualifications just ask.

Please feel free to peruse my course work portfolios and vew any certificates, should you be interested.

My Availability

I encourage open realistic conversation about the needs of families. Personally, I found it very challenging working full and part time with 2 small children and traveling into the city every day, so I have an understanding of what it is like to leave your child/children and the stresses of work life balance.

Over night care available and assuming shift work changes then realistically this service would require flexibility according to the needs of parents.

Please feel free to contact me if you want to discuss future childcare requirements.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes no no
Last Updated: 28/09/2018

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.00 per hour

Contracted childminding rates depend on agreed times of day. Everyone's circumstances are unique.

My Local Schools

My Documents

Warning

This provider has not yet uploaded any documents for validation. Read our Safety Centre and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Rainbow. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Karen looked after my daughter from 18 months until she was nearly 3 and I couldn’t have wished for a better person to leave her with. She is so caring, open, honest and provides a stimulating environment for all the children in her care. She is full of energy and life and regularly takes the children on outings and does activities with them. She is obviously passionate about helping children learn and grow and I felt so secure leaving my daughter in her hands. I was regularly updated with photos and messages about how she was getting on. She also provides healthy, tasty food and looked after my daughter carefully in regards to the allergies she has. It is clear that Karen genuinely cares about the children and their families and is inspired to help people who need some extra support with their little ones.
I would highly recommend Karen and feel extremely lucky to have found her!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Rainbow on 19/10/2018

Karen looked after our daughter from when she was 8 months old until she went to preschool. She formed a really close bond with her and had a lot of fun with the friends she met there. Karen takes the children on great trips to museums, farms and locally to groups as well as having great premises at her home with a garden that the children enjoyed a lot.
I knew I didn't have to worry at all when my daughter was with Karen, she was really well cared for, fed healthy food and I'd often receive photos of what they were up to during the day. Whenever she could Karen was flexible and during school holidays was also able to look after my son, who had lots of fun there playing with Karen's daughters. My daughter even had a sleepover at Karen's once and it was great to know she was in safe hands!
Taking on a childminder is a bit like extending your family and we were relieved and delighted when we found someone we were so happy with to look after our daughter. It's been sad moving on from Rainbow EYES but I think Karen will be part of our lives for a long time!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Rainbow on 20/09/2018


Response by Rainbow on 22/09/2018:

Thank you so much for your kind review. I miss my little friend and am so happy she is settled into and enjoying pre-school. Such a privilege exploring, experiencing and learning together. xx

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.