5 stars (3)

Nanny in Winchmore Hill

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2016 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 13 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
Tax-Free Childcare
Nanny Share

About Me

I would consider myself to a little bit like a modern day Mary Poppins...who is ideally looking for around 40 hours a week!

I have completed a degree specialising in childhood and youth studies with applied social science. I also hold a Level 3 CACHE Diploma in Child Care and Education, which I completed before graduating. I have current experience working with children and I'm currently managing a busy nursery in central London however miss looking after children on a personal basis such as nannying. I love reading books, telling stories, carrying out fun experiments, going to the library, visiting local parks and playgrounds, and arranging play dates. I can demonstrate the importance of caring and sharing, whilst being honest and very reliable. I am a non-smoker; I have fully checkable references, a paediatric first aid certificate and a DBS check. I am also Ofsted registered, therefore able to accept childcare vouchers.

After securing 9 A - C graded GCSE's, I went on to complete my Level 3 Diploma in Child Care and Education, whilst completing this I worked in local nurseries and schools to gain practical experience working with children. I then decided to further my studies by completing a degree in Applied Social Science and Childhood and Youth Studies. Whilst studying I worked on a supply/bank basis in a day nursery. I graduated in July 2011 with a 2:1 classification.

Once graduating from Liverpool University I began my career in various childcare setting such as day nurseries, schools and private home settings. I have an abundance of experience with newborn babies up to children age 14 and have been a nanny in London for the past 3.5 years.

In December 2011 I undertook a nanny role with a lovely single parent family in Oldham, Greater Manchester. I worked long flexible hours which were arranged at the start of each working week - (all hours were sole charge) caring for two adorable children aged 3 and 6. I also carried out general household duties such as tidying up, laundry etc. I left the family due to the mother taking a career break. I am still in contact with the family and they have provided me with an excellent reference should it be required.

Once I left the family I worked in a school as a Higher Level Teaching Assistant. As an experienced teaching assistant working with an NQT I assisted the teacher to plan, prepare and deliver interesting and varied lessons for the pupils in the foundation stage according to their individual needs, ages and stages of development.

Since moving to London I have been a nanny for 5 families (4 as part of a nanny share). I have recently assisted families with the weaning process, speech development, sleep routines, taught a number of children to write their names and grasp the basics of early reading, arranged play dates with the community of nannies I have met, attended various playgroups and classes within the area and taken responsibility for the safety and development of children in care.

When my last job came to an end I was approached by a nursery in central London to become their deputy manager. I'm currently enjoying this role but my heart truly lies in nannying.

My references and CV are available on request should you require them. I also have a full and extensive nanny portfolio available to view at an interview. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Jodie

My Experience

Various roles including:

Nanny/Nanny share

Nursery manager

Teaching Assistant

Nursery Nurse

Play worker

Kids club supervisor

My Qualifications

I have an excellent mix of experience along with academic training:

BA combined honours: Applied Social Science and Childhood & Youth Studies (Liverpool Hope University Sept 2007 - May 2011 - Upper Second Class Division One (2:1).)

CACHE Level 3: Diploma in Child care and Education (DCE) : B, B, C

GCSEs include: English, English literature, Maths, Science (double award), French, Health and social care (double award), Child development, Design + Technology: Food Technology

GNVQ: Welsh second language: Distinction and merit

Key Skills: Application of number: Pass

Basic certificate in sign language

First Aid trained

Cross Infection Procedures and Dental Health Education

Autism aware certificate

Makaton Trained

School trained fire Marshall

Child protection training

Child protection refresher course - Level 2

Certificate in working with children with disabilities

Cetificate in improving children's learning through play.

Cetificate in Safe sleeping for babies - Reducing the risk of SIDS V2

My Availability

I am looking 4 days per week in an ideal scenario

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 27/09/2016

My Fees

To be discussed

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Jodie. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Jodie has been working for us for the last three years, starting off full time in a nanny share and now part time just looking after my two sons, now age 2 and 3. Jodie has a very natural way with my two boys and they love spending time with her. She is extremely caring and pro-active, planning fun and educational activities. She keeps the boys to our set routine, and succeeded in getting my one year old to nap in his cot rather than walking round the park in his pram! Jodie is very receptive to following what we want the boys to do as well as making suggestions and coming up with ideas for them.
Jodie has become part of the family and I never have to worry when I am leaving for work as I trust her totally with the care of my sons. I could not recommend her more highly.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Jodie on 25/06/2018

Jodie was a fantastic find. From the first meeting we knew she would fit into our family perfectly and she did not disappoint during her time (approx 10 months) with us. She made going back to work much easier knowing that she was there for our son. I never spent time worrying about him - just wishing (when she sent all the lovely photos through of their activities) that I could be there too!

She created a real bond with him from the first day, which still continues when we have the odd play date! She always put his needs first and I think it’s safe to say that we were all genuinely gutted when it was time for her move on.

She was punctual, friendly, and well organised, managing to keep him entertained and really happy whilst keeping everything just so in the house.

She helped foster his love of books and spent hours reading to him. She was open to ideas, followed house rules around tv with no questions asked, tried new things, and kept herself and the boy busy with classes, crafts and park trips, and was always researching the best things to do with a 1 year old in London.

I can honestly say our only issue was that we had to buy a new freezer to store our own food as she had a great love of batch cooking!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Jodie on 23/06/2018

We absolutely hit the jackpot when we employed Jodie! Going back to work after maternity leave is terrifying enough, without having to hand your child over to a virtual stranger. Jodie made the transition so easy for us. She is professional and personal and very, very thoughtful. Jodie is a very reliable and punctual individual – we have been able to rely on her 100%. Jodie has a very strong work ethic and is always willing to go the extra mile – making surprise arts and crafts gifts and then ensuring that he house is absolutely immaculate. This is something I still have not been able to manage! She often thinks outside the box with regards to activities and ensures our child has a different, structured activity every day. As we are both teachers, this is something that we really value. We have been very impressed with Jodie’s caring, nurturing and positive attitude alongside her professionalism and have found it a huge relief to have her in our lives. She has instilled our child with good manners and basic skills that can only come from a nice person. I would highly recommend Jodie for a position within your household; however she will be sorely missed.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Jodie on 20/06/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.