5 stars (2)

Childminder in Carlisle

Female Non-smoker Member since Oct 2016 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 15 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

My name is Collette Evans a childminder based in Dalston near Carlisle offering quality, home based childcare with a 'Good' Ofsted rating in all areas.

I worked for many years as a Nurse, but have embarked on a career change to childminding.

I'm mum to my three lovely boys. We live in a quiet cul de sac close to the village centre.

My aim is to provide a warm, friendly and caring atmosphere for children and babies in my care. I work in partnership with parents to meet the needs of the children. I believe a strong partnership between parents and myself as a childminder is the foundation to ensuring a child is happy and developing well.

I have an assistant Childminder who works with me three days a week.

My Experience

I worked as a nurse for many years, but this role never really fulfilled me and I often dreamt of becoming a childminder, but was too apprehensive in leaving a full time position. I was encouraged by my family to set up as a childminder after seeing all the adventures and activities I get up to with my boys, so I took the plunge and here I am a registered childminder.

My Qualifications

Cumbria's Introduction to Professional Home-Based Childcare.
Registered Learning Disability Nurse
Paediatric First Aid.
Basic Food Hygiene.
Children's and Young People's Development in Health and Social Care Settings.
Understanding Pathways to Extremism and the Prevent Programme.
Safe Sleeping for Babies - Reducing the Risk of SIDS.
Awareness of Child Abuse and Neglect -.Core.
Effective Communication Skills.
Five to Thrive Barnardo's - Workshop.
Child Development - Level 2 - Open University Undergraduate Course.
Currently working towards an Award in Childcare and Education.

My Availability

My business is open from 7am until 6.30pm, however I'm flexible in my approach so if required times can be altered.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/08/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.25 per hour

Hourly rate = £4.25
Hourly rate for before and after school provision = £4.75

These fees include routine trips out, snacks and drinks during the day or after school. Fees also pay towards resources, equipment, craft and paper supplies.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Collette. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I was very nervous about my second boy going to a childminder, as my first hadn't gone to any form of childcare until he was a good bit older. Collette made every effort to ease our worries though, and everything went very smoothly. She is always flexible and reassuring, considerate of our needs and wishes, communicative and calm, all the things you need. My son has been going to Collette for around three months now, since he was 9 months old, and he always seems to enjoy himself. Collette always does great activities with the kids, and often ones that I don't always feel I have the time or energy for at home, so it's fantastic for helping my son's development, and he really seems to benefit socially from being around the other kids too. Thank you Collette!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Collette on 14/11/2019

Every parent knows that your child is your most valuable and precious possession and so choosing the right person to look after them is essential. Not only essential in regards to them being well-catered for but so that you can have complete peace of mind whilst at work.

As this was our first born, my husband and I didn’t know what we wanted in regards to the setting: a nursery, childminder or a nanny and right up to the point if us booking an appointment to meet Collette, we were still undecided as to which would suit us best. Having family members (on both sides) working in the education sphere - from nursery and childminding, up to A-Level teaching - we weren’t short of opinions and guidance. However, we had to choose for ourselves with our son’s needs and happiness being paramount in the final decision made.

Collette’s profile stood out to us immediately - her having a family herself, a medical background, the warm and inviting tone - and so I messaged her to arrange to meet.

I’m sure you will understand what I mean when I say I was nervous; this was a big deal. However, as my husband and I were soon to learn, there was no need to feel nervous as we were greeted warmly and welcomed by Collette and her family, instantly feeling at ease. The setting was great and completely child-friendly; it was set up for play, fun and learning. At the time my son was 4.5 months old and hadn’t really experienced many other adults other than myself and my husband but Collette was keen to hold him and it was as if he’d known her his whole life! There were no pretences, this was genuine. Whilst we looked over paperwork and chatted about our needs etc., Collette played with our son-I was struck by how calm, kind and attentive she was; our mind was made up from then. We haven’t looked back since.

Our son is coming up to 20 months old and he is thriving, happy and part of Collette’s family. Not once has he cried when we’ve dropped him off (he is there 5 days a week full-time) - in fact, I often get offended at how readily he runs into Collette’s house, not turning back to say bye! He enjoys going out to various groups and soft-plays, taking walks around the picturesque village and playing in the garden as well as taking part in a full range of activities: painting, water play, making mud pies in the mud kitchen, reading books, building towers, pom-pom drops...the list goes on. I know exactly what he has been up to from the private, password protected online site where Collette post pictures and descriptions of activities (all of which are linked to the EYFS) to the daily journal noting the essentials - sleep times, food eaten etc.

We couldn’t be happier and it pains me to think of him ever leaving there to go to school. She is exactly what we needed and wanted; we love her and her lovely family as does our son.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Collette on 17/06/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.