Private Tutor in London Borough Of Lambeth

Female Non-smoker Member since May 2017 Last Updated Jul 2018 Last Login 12 Nov 2018

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Biology Tutor
Chemistry Tutor
French Tutor
IT/Computers Tutor
Geography Tutor
History Tutor
Music Tutor
General Science Tutor
Art Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
A-Level
Further/Higher/University
Sociology Tutor
Psychology Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Humanities Tutor
Media Tutor
11 Plus

About Me

For me, education must always be completely tailored to the individual, age and ability-appropriate, adaptive and inventive, and learner-centred. It must also be engaging and active; I believe we learn best when we are learning through first-hand experience. Building confidence in students is key, and I work to find the ways to encourage a learner into being excited and interested in the subject. Every learner has a distinctive learning style, and I am dedicated to developing the most appropriate methods for every individual to achieve their best.

My specialist subjects are English Language & Literature and Art, and I also teach all other humanities subjects up to A Level and KS1 & KS2 Maths. I am experienced in tutoring for exams, working with study skills, revision organisation, revision skills, and coursework organisation. I have a creative approach to tutoring and pride myself in my ability to find an appropriate teaching/learning style for any learner.

I moved schools a number of times growing up (all London schools) and in some ways struggled to settle in to classroom environments. Through this, I have a good understanding of the variety of learning environments on offer in London. Though I left school (and university) with good grades, it was not always a smooth ride, and my own experience of the education system informs my approach now as an educator. It is through deep empathy with young learners who are struggling with the pace and expectations of school that I am able to relate and find ways to make learning enjoyable and nourishing.

I graduated with First Class Honours in Fine Art from Goldsmiths College, University of London. This was a practical art degree with a writing focus, and was engaged with philosophy and contemporary critical theory. It was practice and research led; my research was concerned largely with different modes of learning, educating and playing.

My Experience

I have worked extensively with students from ages 4-20, with as much experience in early years learning as in GCSE, A Level and Degree level work. I have worked with a number of learners with learning difficulties including dyslexia and ADHD, and children with behavioural issues. Though working towards and for academic outcomes is always my primary goal, I find that an academic approach to these goals is not always right for everyone. I endeavour to find the best learning styles for all students, and when relevant incorporate visual and auditory methods, and kinaesthetic teaching techniques - essentially integrating movement, physical stimuli, and breathing/mindfulness skills in to the learning. Finding the ideal learning styles is integral for best outcomes.

Recent students include:
Aura (6 years old) - I tutored Aura full-time for one month when she and here family were visiting from Thailand. To begin with we were battling with some quite obstructive behavioural problems - Aura was incredibly resistant to the classroom and would come up with very creative new ways each day to avoid the learning environment. With the support of her mother, and creative strategising, we managed to begin to build a trusting relationship. By the end of the month she was focussing for the full 5 hour session every day, making strides in her reading and writing, and producing brilliant work. Her mother and support staff were very happy with the behavioural transformation that took place.

T - (1.5-3 years old) I worked with T on her literacy and numeracy for almost 2 years, supporting her from the age of 1.5 to 3 years old. We worked together through a lot of play-based learning, and I would use her interests (favourite animals, books etc) to bring learning into our time together.

Theobald (4 years old). Considering Theo's age, the work we did together was largely experiential play-learning, working with Theo's attention span and ability to engage with tasks and games, as well as working with letters and numbers to begin to develop his literacy and numeracy.

L (5 years old) L struggles with hyperactivity and concentration. We work on his literacy through kinaesthetic and play-learning, also including some yogic breathing and balancing exercises, working both on his confidence with letters and words and his ability to experience calm.

Ophelia, (8 years old) We were working on Ophelia's reading and writing, comprehension and concentration. Ophelia's confidence in her ability with language has grown considerably, and now finds it easier to engage and concentrate with the task at hand.

R (9 years old) R struggles with her writing, maths, concentration levels and her ability to stick to a task. We worked together using a story-telling method - as she was very resistant to both writing and maths of any kind, but is very creative minded and enjoys making up stories - so I got her to begin making a story about a fantasy world, writing it down as we went, and then gently bringing maths into the world of the story (the story was set in a fairy candyland - so I began asking questions about how much candy they make, how many candies per person, etc etc - essentially doing the accounting for the kingdom!). As it was apparent that R is a primarily kinaesthetic learner, we interspersed the work with yoga balances and breathing exercises which really helped her ability to then concentrate on the task again.

L (10 years old) I worked with L for 3 months, doing targeted practice for a language-aptitude-based entrance exam as well as general English and Maths preparation for her 11+ assessments for Grey Coat Hospital School.

Henry (10 years old) Henry has dyslexia and is very good at avoiding reading and writing at all costs. We have developed a game (similar to a board game) where acquiring letters in order to spell words is the way to win. I weave as much reading and writing into the sessions as possible. This approach has really helped him to build his confidence with language.

Bridie (15 years old) I worked with Bridie in the run up to her Art GCSE. After some confidence-knocking experiences Bridie had begun to lose faith in her abilities in Art, where previously it had been her favourite subject. I focused on her specific skills (ie drawing - the main source of her insecurity with this subject), and with gathering and completing her coursework load, whilst gently building her confidence in herself as an Artist.

J (15 years old) I tutored J for his English GCSE (he is in year 11) whilst he had some time away from school. The one-on-one time proved beneficial for J as we were able to tackle specific problems in his writing and analysis, and work closely on his creative writing.

Izzy (15 years old) I helped Izzy whilst she was working towards her GCSE exams, in English (literature and language), Psychology and Art. Izzy's dyslexia affected her ability to organise her ideas - both in essay writing and with coursework (Art GCSE being coursework heavy). We worked out some systems together to help her memory in essay-based exams, and we thoroughly organised her coursework so that she was not missing out on any deserved valuable marks. She was very happy with her results which were all higher than her predicted grades and mock grades.

Harriet (18-19 years old) I worked with Harriet in the run up to her A Level exams in Sociology and Art. We worked through lots of past papers, worked on revision methods, and devised ways for her to remember the information needed in her exam-based subjects. I also helped Harriet in her first year of university again with her essay writing, as the step from A Level to Higher Education was quite tough for her. She did well in the final grade of her first year.

Leo (19) I helped Leo in his first year of his Art degree at Camberwell School of Art. He was diagnosed with fairly severe dyslexia and dyspraxia only when he arrived at university - it had gone undiagnosed his whole way through school. He was finding the work load in first year very daunting - I helped him with some essay writing and essay analysis, and with the general organisation of his project briefs, seminars, reading etc. He ended his first year (and his degree) with a good mark.

My Qualifications

First Class Hons., BA Fine Art, Goldsmiths College, University of London

A Level English Lang/Lit: A*
A Level Sociology: A*
A Level Art: A*

GCSE English Lang. (A), English Lit. (A), Art (A), Sociology (A), French (A), Music (A), Science (B), Maths (B), IT (C), BTEC First Performing Arts Music (Distinction)

My Availability

I am currently taking students for the Autumn.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes no
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 30/07/2018

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £45.00 per hour

My Documents

Warning

This provider has not yet uploaded any documents for validation. Read our Safety Centre and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.