image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

Childminder in Forge Wood

5 stars

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2017 Last Updated Feb 2021 Last Login 12 Jul 2021 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

My name is Phillipa Dowey, I am a registered childminder with Ofsted, and live in Forge wood, Crawley. I have 15 years’ teaching experience of children between the ages of 3 and 8.

I live with my husband and 2 children (a boy who is 10 and a girl who is 5). Our home is warm, nurturing and welcoming. I am passionate about providing a happy, exciting, fun and loving learning environment for the children in my care. I follow the Early Years Statutory Framework in the same way a Nursery will. However I am able to give closer attention to each child's learning and needs because of ratio of adult to children. This means I can tailor each child's learning to their specific stage of development. By planning activities that are of personal interest to the children (and help move their learning on), they gain a sense of enjoyment, satisfaction and wonder in their own progress. I believe that children need to feel safe and secure in order to learn and reach their full potential.

The children in my care, have plenty of opportunities to play with other children of various ages, through other childminders that I have networked and become friends with. We spend time every week having fun, learning and socialising with other children at: a local childminding group, toddler groups, soft play and the local parks. Other places we make regular outings to are: National trust parks including Wakehurst; the library; Nymans; the woods; Sheffield park; Tilgate park; various parks and play areas; farms; pet shops and the Nature centre. In warmer months we might go to the beach!

When at home we cook, bake, dance, sing, learn, chat, play in my garden, get creative in various art and craft activities, messy play activities as well as play with toys and games.

I provide home cooked meals giving parents one less thing to need to worry about in their busy schedules.

My Experience

I taught for 15 years in the UK and South Africa, at private and state schools. I have a lot of experience with early years children (3 to 5 years). My extensive experience in teaching means that I have taught hundreds of children with different personalities, abilities, cultures, faiths, and family backgrounds. I have experience supporting children who may need extra help with their development and learning. I have also worked with a range of children with special needs. During my years teaching I have enjoyed working with children who have English as a 2nd language.

I believe that a strong partnership between the parent and myself is needed in order for the child to grow and flourish.

My Qualifications

Cache level 3 Award in Preparing to work in Home based Childcare in 2018
Bachelor of Primary Education Degree (South Africa) in 2000
Tigerlily Paediatric First Aid in 2018
DBS checked in 2018
Safeguarding course in 2018
Designated Safeguarding lead webinar 2020

Professional development courses:
• Supporting children's emotional and well-being in 2018
• Expectations of behaviour in 2018
• Prevent course in 2018
• Heuristic and Loose Parts Play 2019
• Getting Ready for the New Ofsted Framework for Childminders in July 2019
• 'Confident, capable communicators' childminding conference in Oct 2019
• Coronavirus risk assessment webinar 2020
• Health and Safety webinar 2020

My Availability

It is best to contact me about your needs as my availability can change.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School yes yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/02/2021

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.50 per hour

My hourly rate is £5.50 per hour.

My Local Schools

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 02/10/2018)
  • Training Certificate (added 02/10/2018)
  • First Aid Certificate (added 02/10/2018)
  • DBS Check (added 02/10/2018)
  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 02/10/2018)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


Below are the latest reviews for Phillipa. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Phillipa is an excellent childminder.
She is very experienced, dedicated, punctual, flexible and keep me informed all the time.
I can highly recommend Phillipa if you are looking for a childminder who is passionate about children.
I would like also to thanks Phillipa for your massive help she was live-saver for me in a difficult situation!!!!!!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for katia katia about Avatar for Phillipa Phillipa on 28/04/2019

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.