5 stars (1)

Private Tutor in Chalfont St Peter

Female Non-smoker Member since Nov 2017 Last Updated Sep 2018 Last Login 25 Sep 2018 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
Languages Tutor

About Me

I am a qualified English Teacher with over 16 years of experience in teaching learners of different age and ability. I have worked in various schools (primary/secondary, state/independent), but I have a special interest in private tuition.

I mainly tutor Early Years and Primary School pupils (EYFS, KS1, KS2) in Maths (KS1) and English (KS1 and KS2) with a focus on improving attainment in Writing, Speaking, Reading Comprehension, Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling. I also specialise in teaching English to learners with a different first language (EAL/EFL/ESOL).

I mainly use unpublished material, written by me, which is tailored to the needs of each learner. All lessons are taught by me.

Every lesson starts with a Spelling Test (the spelling list is provided on the previous lesson). The lesson has a main focus (i.e. Reading Comprehension or Writing) and includes a five-minute test in preparation for the 11+ (from the age of 5) and homework to further consolidate the material taught. Progress tests are frequently used as well.

My Experience

I have worked in different environments (primary and secondary state and independent schools alongside private tuition) and with a different focus (raising levels of attainment, examination and certificate driven, work related to adults). I have tutored children from the early age of three.

I specialise in EAL/EFL/ESOL – teaching English to learners with a different first language. I also tutor Early Years and Foundation pupils and Primary School pupils (EYFS, KS1, KS2), teaching Maths (KS1) and English (KS1 and KS2) with a focus of improving levels of attainment in Writing, Speaking, Reading Comprehension, Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling. I also work with pupils for KS2 preparation.

I am very patient with learners, kind and approachable. I deliver engaging lessons, making learning fun whilst at the same time supporting learners in their studies, helping them to get organised, build confidence and develop independent learning skills. I always personalise my teaching practices to suit the learner’s specific needs and use different teaching strategies to raise standards of attainment.

Don’t hesitate to contact me to discuss your personal teaching requirements.

Additional service: I can pick up children from either Chalfont St Peter Infant School or Chalfont St Peter CofE Academy, give them a snack and assist them with homework and/or tutor them. Parents can then pick them up from my house. My fees are £10/hour for this service.

My Qualifications

I hold a Qualified Teacher Status (QTS), a Bachelor (BA Hons) in English Literary Studies and a Postgraduate Certificate in Management (PGCM) from the University of Central Lancashire, UK. I also hold a Diploma in English from Nottingham International Study Centre, a First Certificate in English from The University of Cambridge, a Proficiency in English from The University of Michigan and have attended several certified teaching courses, such as:
• TEFL Masters Course
• Primary School Teaching - Ensuring Excellence in Writing
• Inclusive Education: Knowing what we mean
• Introduction to Child Psychology
• Seven Ways to Become a Star Teacher
• Making the most of your coursebook - Teaching Visually from Beginner to Intermediate Level
• Dealing with misbehaviour in the classroom
• University of Cambridge EFL seminar day on the content and preparation of the revised CPE

I am a member of The National Subject Association for EAL (NALDIC).

My Availability

Please contact me for specific times.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no yes yes yes yes yes no
Afternoon no yes no yes yes yes no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 24/09/2018

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

Fees are for a 60 minute session. Discounts will be offered to siblings.

My Documents

Warning

This provider has not yet uploaded any documents for validation. Read our Safety Centre and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for SisiTats. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I was astonished by the improvement my son had within one month of starting the lessons. Mrs Tatsi is well organised and passionate about her job. I will definitely choose her for my youngest son as well, if I feel that he needs support. Highly recommended tutor.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about SisiTats on 15/07/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.