Avatar for sophia


Private Tutor in Birmingham

Female Member since Jun 2019 Last Updated Mar 2024 Last Login Jun 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Special Needs Tutor

About Me

My name is Sophia. I am a fully qualified, experienced primary school teacher with lots of classroom and tutoring experience. I have been teaching as a primary school teacher full-time since 2020. I have a warm and friendly teaching approach which helps to rapidly build my students’ confidence levels and thus their attainment in their subject. I like to use different ways of teaching a key concept/ skill and like to add a fun element in lessons through quizzes, games etc to help children either to retain some information or apply it within a different context.

Tutoring will be tailored to the needs of each child, focusing on specific areas or a range of areas, and will be taught in an engaging and interactive way. I will bring all the equipment and stationery necessary for the sessions. I can make home tutoring fun, hands-on and interesting for children who need extra support or a boost in their learning.

I will first assess the child's prior knowledge using my own assessments and based on the results, I will assess their strengths and weaknesses. I possess a strong subject knowledge of the national curriculum for EYFS, Year 1, 2 and 3 which enables me to understand which areas my pupil needs to work on. My pupils are able to make rapid progress in a short amount of time. I am always open and honest and like to give feedback to parents so that can understand how well their child is progressing. I feel it is important to help build a child’s confidence especially in some subjects as there might be an underlying anxiety which holds them back from achieving their full potential.

My first session would consist of getting to know my pupil and their strengths and needs via informal assessment. Together we would draw up a target chart, thus enabling the pupil to have ownership of their learning. This would also be shared with parents, to enable best support for the child.

We would then work through the targets set, fully focused on the individual needs of the pupil in question.

My approach to teaching is creative, and I believe that making learning as hands on and practical as possible enables best engagement and progression. Self assessment is crucial too, so that the pupil fully understands his/her needs.

My Experience

I am an experienced teacher with a PGCE in Primary and early years from Birmingham City University. I also have a BSC honours degree in Psychology & Neuroscience from Keele University. I have had experience working in EYFS and Key Stage 1 and Key stage 2 in both mainstream and SEN schools.
I have been a teacher for five years. I am extremely passionate about teaching primary school children, especially when working 1 to 1 with a pupil or in small groups. I can build a strong rapport with children and can plan for a child's particular learning needs. I bring enthusiasm and dedication to my work and have high expectations of every pupil that I teach. I enable children to flourish in the environment that they work in and I work extremely hard to develop their confidence and self-esteem, which might hold them back in reaching their full potential. I do tutor outside of school hours as I still work in schools during the day.

Primary Education:
I am a qualified primary teacher with 5 years teaching experience. I offer additional support in the areas of Maths and English and have experience preparing children for SATS and phonics assessments.

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities:
I have also supported individuals with Autism, ADHD, Mild Dyslexia, Downs Syndrome, Moderate Learning Difficulties and Speech and Language Difficulties.

Experience in 4 schools (mainstream and special needs).

My Qualifications

- PGCE in Primary and early years (Birmingham City University)
- BSC Hons in Neuroscience & Psychology (Keele University)
- DBS checked.
- Experience with SEN.

My Availability

I can be flexible on days and times (especially in school holidays).
Please contact me for costs, availability and information on what you are looking for, for your child/children.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no yes yes
Morning no no no no no yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 05/03/2024

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

£20 per hour
(Also depending on location may include additional travel fees of £4)

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 09/06/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 09/06/2019)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.