Childminder in Inverness

Usually responds within 30 minutes

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2019 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 30 Oct 2019 Email

My Summary

Scotland Care Inspectorate Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Flexible Hours

About Me

'Home from home' childcare with a fun and caring mum of 2. Former French/Spanish teacher, recently registered.
My name is Fiona and I am 41 years old. I live in Inverness with my partner Jamie, daughter (Jamie, 5) and son (Evan, 2). Jamie is in primary 1 at the local Primary School and Evan is with me at home.
I love being creative, arts & crafts, singing and dancing, exploring nature and working with children.
I can do school drop offs/pick ups from the following primary schools: Merkinch, St Joseph's, Central and Bishop Eden's.
Based in Dunabban Road so fairly central.

My Experience

I have experience of working with children from pre-school to secondary level. I am a former French/Spanish teacher so I teach the children a little French as part of their daily activities so they learn in a fun and natural way. I also have a peripatetic music teacher who joins us once a week. I can offer Spanish on request.

Since leaving Glasgow University, where I studied an MA Hons degree in French, I have completed a Post Graduate Diploma in Education and a Diploma in Spanish and taught French & Spanish in secondary schools. I decided to take voluntary redundancy to be a full-time mum to Jamie and Evan while setting up my own business ‘Fiona’s French’. I was a peripatetic French tutor visiting primary schools, nurseries and local childminders. I have also worked as an Early Years Practitioner in a local nursery and as an assistant to a local childminder.

I have a sound understanding of education and child development as well as experience with Curriculum for Excellence and the learning experiences that are vital in ensuring children are successful and confident learners.

I am creative and love doing arts & crafts with the children as well as being an outdoors person - we love to go for walks and learn a bit of French on the way!

I also have a peripatetic music teacher who visits weekly to do musical activities with the children; these are age and stage dependent and at times in French! There is also an opportunity for supplementary keyboard lessons for children in my care who are attending primary school.

As part of my registration training, I have successfully completed the Childminding Induction Support Programme which is organised and approved by the SCMA (Scottish Childminding Association). The course covered a wide range of subjects including child protection, health and safety, child development and behaviour management. I am currently refreshing my child protection training and my Paediatric First Aid training. I also make full use of the training workshops provided by the SCMA and the Care Inspectorate and as a teacher place great value on continuing professional development.

Additionally, as a busy mother of two, I am well aware of the demands and responsibilities involved in caring for children. I have no doubt that the experiences that I have had already with bringing up my own children will help me in my role as a childminder.

I look forward to hearing from you!

My Qualifications

MA Hons degree in French
Post Graduate Diploma in Education (Secondary/Modern Languages)
Diploma in Spanish
Childminding Induction Support Programme
Child Protection/Safeguarding children (currently refreshing)
First Aid (currently refreshing)
Food Hygiene (currently studying)

My Availability

My availability is Monday to Friday from 8am to 6pm.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/10/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.50 per hour

I charge £5 per hour; this includes drinks and healthy snacks, French (and/or Spanish on request) language teaching in a fun and friendly environment and regular activities

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • PVG Check (added 12/08/2019)
  • Care Inspectorate Certificate (added 05/08/2019)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.