Avatar for Sharmain


Private Tutor in London: Lambeth (also available for babysitting)

5 stars

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Member since Oct 2019 Last Updated Jun 2023 Last Login Mar 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Mandarin Tutor
Hotel Babysitter
Home School Helper

About Me

A friendly, proactive, responsible, and highly- motivated individual, who demonstrates strong communication skills, has confidence in working under pressure, and enthusiasm for team working to accomplish the goal. I can communicate well with different cultural people and expresses a helpful and positive attitude with polite manners at all times.

Nationality: Hong Kong (I can speak, English, Mandarin and Cantonese)

My Experience

From Hong Kong and have learnt Mandarin, English and Cantonese since I was a child. I speak Cantonese at home therefore is my native language. I moved to the UK for higher education 9 years ago then to London in 2019. I am now based in South London and works in Northeast London.

- Previous working with Malaysian/ Vietnamese family, weekly babysitting for a 1 year old girl (Play, feed, personal care and speaking in Mandarin only)
- Previously working German/ Taiwanese family, ad hoc babysitting for a 1.5 year old boy (Park, messy play, feed, personal care and speaking in Mandarin only)
- Currently working with 2 separate French family, ad hoc babysitting for 8/9 and 3/4 year old children (Dinner, personal care and stories in English)

- Previously worked for a French family for approx 7 months- Assisted with general cleaning and taking care of a 2 year old boy and 6 months infant (collected boy from nursery, feed, take bath and put him to sleep)
- Previously worked (2 days per week) for a Chinese/ Greek family for 4 years old and 4 months infant as an after school nanny (feed, take bath, play and storytelling)

- Previously provided Cantonese lesson daily with an adult
- Weekly Mandarin lesson with 5 year old twin
- Weekly Mandarin lesson with 8 and 6 year old boys
- Weekly Mandarin lesson with 9 and 6 year old siblings
- I also tutor a few adult and children online on the Preply platform

Relevant professional experience
2017- 2019
Part time as a support worker for people (all age) with learning disability
The Hamlet Centre (Charity organization), Norwich, United Kingdom
- Act as a supporter for service users during learning, training and social activities.
- Support organisers in designing and running sessions
- Liaise with families, carers and other professionals with agreement on a regular basis
- Assist and support as necessary during lunchtimes and break times with food and drink
- Support service users with personal care needs
- Use techniques to support students/members with challenging behaviours

Jan- March 2019
Clinical placement as an occupational therapy student (Paediatrics community team)
Royal Free Hospital Trust, London, United Kingdom
- Responsible for a number of case load including assessments, intervention planning
and modification, implementation, discharge planning and documentation
- Conduct initial and standardized assessments (Movement ABC and Beery VMI assessment)
- Participate in the Child and Adolescent Metal Health diagnostic team
- Lead individual and group rehabilitation sessions including goal setting, handwriting, organizational skills
- Liaise sessions with parents and teachers through emails and telephone calls
- Initiated a service improvement project for the team

Jan- June 2018
High school mentor in a local high school, United Kingdom
University of East Anglia (Outreach team), Norwich, United Kingdom
- Participate in training of children and adolescent communication and safeguarding
- Design and lead 11 weeks of mentoring sessions with 4 students
- Work with students on a collaborative project to increase their research skills and knowledge of university
- Identify practical obstacles students face to progression and offer support to empower students to achieve
- Share experience of going to university and help students identify the benefits of higher education

My Qualifications

University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
Average: 2.1 honours

International General Certificate of Secondary Education Qualifications
Biology (B), Business Studies (C), Chinese foreign language (A*), Chinese first language (A), English first language (C), Mathematics (A), Physics (C)

My Availability

Previously worked as an Occupational Therapist at Charing Cross Hospital. I am currently working in a private healthcare company which I work remotely therefore has somewhat flexible schedule. I am guaranteed available after working hours (around 5pm) until night time and anytime during the weekends.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no yes yes
Morning no no no no no yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 20/06/2023

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £18.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

Rate can be negotiated

My Documents

  • EU Passport (added 06/05/2023)


Below are the latest reviews for Sharmain. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Sharmain has come a couple of times to help with our two young children's Mandarin practice, through games and activities. They loved her visits and we have booked Sharmain to come again.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Madelein Madelein about Avatar for Sharmain Sharmain on 23/12/2019

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.