Avatar for Mia
image/svg+xml

Mia

Babysitter in Hereford

Female Member since Feb 2021 Last Updated Nov 2023 Last Login 12 Feb 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
Emergency Babysitter
Free Smear-Test Childcare
Virtual Nanny
Home School Helper
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hey, my names Mia! I’m a mature student, fast approaching my 30s, studying psychology specialising in children and youth, to one day be a child psychotherapist. Within my degree we look closely at childhood studies and child psychology.

I’m a big kid at heart so take an active role in how I play and channel enthusiasm and creativity. I love being out in nature and having adventures to really bring children’s imagination alive. Or pushing smaller ones around so they can take in everything whilst we explore new things.

Children’s minds are forever developing and constantly craving further development but also appreciate sometimes children need quiet time just like adults do. I think allowing children to develop a sense of self and their own emotions young can only support them in later life ... and hopefully result in less melt downs because of frustration! But also allow them to develop their individualities and be free spirits! I practice gentle parenting and work with each family to ensure the best approach is taken.

I’m all about communication and going with the flow but having clear structure and boundaries to provide the child with independence, stability and safety.

I like to build long lasting relationships with all of the families I’ve childminded for, and even after not needing my support anymore still swing by to see the families. I want to be a connection of the family rather than just a babysitter. I think it helps support healthy attachment in children, especially in the few years of life.

If you’d like to chat with me further about how I practice or just find out more about me, I’m always happy to chat!

My Experience

Throughout my life I’ve found I’m always around children through my nieces and nephews, or all the adopted nieces and nephews I have of my friends. I knew from a young age I wanted to work with children and have spent the past few years exploring how I wanted to do that.

Most recently, I’ve supported a family of 3 (6,8 and 10) with after school pick ups, homework, dinner, bath and bed routine.

Currently, I’m supporting three separate families. A 1.5 year old and two 3 year old little ones, across 3/4 days a week. Each day and per child changes what we do with our day, but generally it’s filled playing with toys, reading books, playing pretend dogs, cats, dinosaurs, cars. And of course going to the park, duck pond or local farm when the weathers nice. But most importantly letting our imaginations run away with us. I let the child lead (as much as possible) with what they’d like to do each day.

Previously, I’ve worked in nurseries with children from 6 months to 4/5 years, I’ve worked in the U.K. and USA as a nanny for children from 2 years to 7 years, as well as babysitting for children from 1 year to 13 years old.

Throughout my extensive experience I’ve worked with children who have SEN such as autism, ADHD and high levels of anxiety. I’ve worked alongside play therapists to enable developmental tools and techniques to encourage and support scaffolding.

Alongside my early years experience I’ve also been a carer/support worker for adults with physical and learning disabilities, as well as elderly with dementia.

Aside to my paid experience, I’m one of the youngest in my family of 6 siblings so was fortunate to be an Aunty by the time I was 10, and have also been an active (free) day care/babysitter. I’ve supported my sister through the first few weeks after child birth, and cared for my niece and nephews from less than a day old. I gave respite to my sisters and sisters in law where they need the support.

My Qualifications

Studying for child psychology degree, Health and social care level 3, First Aid, Fire Safety, Food safety

My Availability

One of the families I’m supporting is enrolling into nursery part time so I have some time available in my week now which I can be flexible around

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 14/11/2023

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour

I’m happy to be flexible depending on families budgets and consistency

My Documents

  • UK Passport (added 13/11/2023)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.