Avatar for Charlie
image/svg+xml

Charlie

Nanny in Brighton (also available for babysitting)

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Jun 2021 Last Updated May 2024 Last Login 16 May 2024

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Mothers Help
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Bedtime Nanny
Festival Nanny
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hello :) I'm an experienced nanny and nursery practitioner with availability for a new family on Tuesdays. I'm also available for ad-hoc weekday and weekend babysitting. I'm experienced with: babies from 4 months old, weaning, bottle feeding, teething, toileting, sleep routines, bathing, baby massage and supporting children with SEND. Currently I'm working a couple of days at a childminding setting and a couple of days as a PA for an adult with a learning disability. I've worked in childcare for 3 and a half years and as a nanny I've specialised in holistic baby care. I also really enjoy supporting parents in 'mother's help' positions. I hold an Ofqual recognised Paediatric First Aid certificate, enhanced DBs, Food Hygiene Level 2 and I enjoy engaging in professional training and reading.

Getting to know a child as an individual is the centre of my childcare practice. I am particularly interested in the development of the very early years - I love working with babies and toddlers. However, I have experience caring for children up to the ages of 11 and I love the different complexities that come with each age group, and more importantly, each individual child.

I've been working with young children since my first year of university, while I was studying Design at Goldsmiths. I discovered nannying during the first COVID lockdown and I continued to work for several families part-time alongside my studies.

Since then I have built some lovely bonds with some families and also worked in a forest school nursery. Working in childcare settings has inspired me to plan activities informed by the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. I enjoy facilitating playful activities for children, following the child’s lead to produce an informal flow of activity around routines that the parents have found to work best. Just some of the activities I like to set up include sensory trails, treasure baskets, den building, baby yoga and massage and then of course lots of singing, playing homemade instruments and interacting with natural objects! Once I get to know a family and everyone's feeling comfortable, I love to take babies and children outdoors, as I believe it provides a rich and stimulating backdrop for development.

A summary of my childcare career:
- 3 and a half years of experience looking after children aged 4 months to 11 years old.
- Experience proxy parenting and overnight babysitting.
- Cared for children with non-verbal autism, a speech impediment and other Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.
- Babysat for children in foster care and learned about the effect of trauma on young children.
- Attended a really interesting baby massage workshop and used these theories to help prevent and alleviate symptoms in little ones.
- I enjoy cooking nutritious vegetarian and vegan food and have good knowledge of weaning recipes.
- Past families have described me as warm, creative and conscientious.

My Experience

Early Years Practitioner, Portslade,
Hippy Kids At Home - March 2024-present.
- I work with the under 2s at the Hippy Kids house.
- We take the little ones to the local nursing home, the park and get them together with the 3-4 year olds for weekly yoga.

Personal Assistant, Brighton,
Individual employer - March 2024-present.
- I support an adult with autism and agoraphobia.
- I assist with personal care, going on walks and engaging her in creative activities and music.

Ad-Hoc Nanny, London,
Various families - October 2023-December 2023.
- I enjoyed working with nanny families old and new, providing childcare on an ad-hoc basis.
- Alongside job searching and moving house, I completed some training in Mindfulness for Children and in Mental Health First Aid.

Playworker, Richmond,
Outdoor Owls Forest School Nursery - April 2023-October 2023.
- I cared for children ages 20 months to 5 years old in a completely outdoors nursery setting.
- I observed the interests and strengths of the children and responded with appropriate provocations inspired by the key areas of the EYFS. I also took care to observe children’s schemas and provide opportunities for them to explore these through play.
- I received training in the High Scope approach and used this to encourage the children to be active decision-makers and mediators.
- At times I would take on the role of ‘Food Lead’, which involved preparing and serving meals and snacks in line with food safety and hygiene standards and with knowledge of children with allergies.
- I was in this position as bank staff and left when less shifts were available and I was planning a move to Brighton.

Part-time Nanny/ Mother's Help, Telegraph Hill, London,
The I Family - June 2022-January 2023.
- As a shared charge nanny, I collaboratively cared for a baby between the ages of 4 months and 1.
- My research into early years development inspired me to make and bring sensory objects for him to explore.
- I used baby massage theories to aid digestion and to help him to relax before naps.
- The position was a short-term contract as I was providing childcare before the baby went to nursery.

Wedding Nanny, Weston Park, Shropshire, 
Freckles Childcare - May 2022.
- I formed a team with another nanny and in tandem we cared for 6 children from aged 18 months old to 7 years old.
- We quickly formed bonds with the families attending the wedding and assessed what support we could offer.

Ad-hoc Nanny & Babysitter, Rotherhithe, London,
The R Family - October 2021-September 2022.
- I cared for their child between the ages of 3 and 4 on a sole charge basis.
- The parents shared that their child took some time adjusting to new people, so we slowly built up a trusting relationship via his passion for trains, incorporating train play into our routines. I learned about the routines that worked best for their child and found a way to organically implement these in my time with him.

Part-time Nanny, Peckham, London,
The HG Family - May 2021–August 2021.
- I cared for their baby on both a shared and sole charge basis between the ages of 5 months old to 9 months old.
- The family followed the ‘The Wonder Weeks’ app, which inspired me to research more about the developmental ‘leaps’ that babies experience.
- This was a temporary position during the summer holidays in between years of university.

After-school Nanny, Brockley, London,
The M Family - July 2020-April 2021.
- I had sole care of three children aged 2, 5 and 7.
- During the pandemic I assisted with home schooling. I brought a playful approach to learning phonics and used trips to the local park as a way to learn about maths and the world around them - observing nature and engaging them with treasure hunts. I created a warm and non-judgemental atmosphere for them to practise reading.
- I adapted topics from my design degree to be taught to the children in home-school art lessons. We discussed art movements and experimented with creating art from memory and sensory experiences. We used art and play to discuss some of the challenging emotions that they had in response to the lockdowns.
- This position was largely during the lockdowns and came to an end when I was able to return to university.

Children's Workshop Assistant, New Malden, London,
Busy Lizzy Arts & Crafts - September-June 2016.
- I assisted Lee Gordon in delivering her creative and inspiring workshops in an after-school club and at parties. It was an important time in making me the creative educator that I am today.
- We facilitated sessions in clay modelling, ceramic painting and wire sculptures, but Lee would also encourage children to work in an interdisciplinary way.

VOLUNTEERING

Children's Workshop Assistant, Leeds,
Leeds Film City - April 2018.
- I taught 3-7 year olds how to make stop-motion animations using clay and Lego.

Workshop Assistant, Orpington, London,
Crofton Roman Villa - June 2016 - August 2016.
- I delivered educational workshops to school children using the archaeological artefacts at the villa and through mosaic-making and collage.

My Qualifications

I have:
- An Enhanced DBs on the update service.
- Public liability insurance with Morton Michel.
- Policies and procedures informed by the EYFS framework and Ofsted.

In-person training:
- Outdoor Owls inset day - including sessions in Personal Social Emotional Development, first aid and allergy training to refresh my previous knowledge.
- Paediatric First Aid (including CPR), London School of Childcare Studies, August 2022. This is an Ofqual recognised qualification that meets the requirements for Ofsted registration on the Voluntary Register for nannies.
- Baby Massage, London School of Childcare Studies, November 2022.

Online training:
- Common Core of Skills and Knowledge, Virtual College, December 2023.
- Safe Sleeping, NoodleNow, June 2023.
- Manual Handling for Childcare Professionals, NoodleNow, June 2023.
- Food Safety & Hygiene Level 2, NoodleNow, April 2023.
- Safeguarding Level 2, NoodleNow, April 2023.
- 6-hour Paediatric First Aid (including common childhood illnesses), Riverside Training, April 2022.

My Availability

I have availability for a new family on Tuesdays. I also have availability on an ad-hoc basis for babysitting on both weekdays and weekends.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no yes no no no no no
Morning no yes no no no no no
Afternoon no yes no no no no no
After School no yes no no no no no
Evening yes yes no no yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 07/05/2024

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £11.44 per hour
  • Nannying from £15.00 per hour (gross)

My babysitting rate (applies once the little ones are in bed) is £11.44/hour gross or £14/hour for every hour after 11pm.
My nanny rate starts from £15/hour gross.

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: Manual Handling for Childcare Professionals (added 10/06/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Safe Sleeping (added 10/06/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Safeguarding Children Level 2 (added 20/04/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Fire Safety (added 20/04/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Food Safety and Hygiene Level 2 (added 20/04/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Baby Massage Workshop - Certificate of Attendance (added 26/11/2022)
  • Training Certificate: Child Development - 0-5 years (added 13/03/2022)
  • First Aid Certificate: Paediatric First Aid (in-person) - Ofqual-recognised (added 20/04/2023)
  • First Aid Certificate: Confirmation of First Aid Online Learning (added 28/04/2022)
  • DBS Check (added 20/04/2023)
  • Proof of Covid-19 Vaccination (added 19/01/2023)
  • UK Passport (added 29/01/2022)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.