5 stars (6)

Childminder in Cambridge

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2009 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 14 Dec 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Hello my name is Catherine (Kate). I have an OUTSTANDING OFSTED report.I live just off Milton Road in Cambridge. I opened in May 2006; I am a registered PACEY member(Professional Association childcare and early years) I have a diploma in Home-based childcare.



I have my own transport

I work from a fabulous spacious 19ft x 14 ft children’s playroom, fully central heated with an extensive variety of children’s toys and learning aids. Including a wide range of arts/crafts material at hand for all children to experience. The playroom has been recently decorated and new flooring fitted. It's now a bright clean sunny room.
All toys are kept to a high standard of cleanliness and safety precautions. All my minded children have easy access to a well maintained downstairs bathroom.
French doors off the play- room open onto a wide spacious 80ft long garden. The fully enclosed garden has a Summer House that the children love to play in, 2 Little Tikes Playhouses and slides, also a large little tikes climbing frame. There is a large patio area to top and bottom of the garden with a wide path joining them, this is fantastic for the children to play on the many ride on toys, and there is a sand and water play area at the bottom of the garden.

I provide home cooked meals, and can cater for special diets. I have menus that can be seen. I try to use as many local products as possible.

I do an extensive amount of outings, arts and crafts, rhymes and music.
I attend a variety of places for children that give my minded children a full social and physical interaction with other children of the same age.activities happen like story time, parachute singing, musical instruments, outdoor adventure play. I also visit indoor soft play areas and parks. We go ten pin bowling and to library's, toy shops and enjoy a garden centre.

We are able to visit a range of parks in the Cambridge area.

We visit Milton Country Park where we can get close to nature,and feed the ducks.. I often have a nature project In progress .
The children love to go and take in a live show at The Corn Exchange,Junction or Arts theatre. As well we go to Vue cinema to see new release films for children.
Sometimes we all go out to lunch in a restaurant, this is very good for promoting good social skills.



I have no pets and a smoke free environment.

My Experience

I am a mother of 3 children, two are now adults. . I have worked with children with speech difficulties and behavior problems.

I was a Governor of a junior school for two years that gave me a great insight into children's education.

.

My Qualifications

I am a registered PACEY member and have an "A" pass diploma in home-based childcare.
Cambs EYCC Local Agreement Certificate. I hold a Level 2 in food hygiene Safety. I hold a 5 star award from the environmental health office. I am a member of the Cambridge City & South Children Come First Children Network. I do at least 14 hours training a year to keep up with the latest legislation.
I always have an up to date 14hr first aid certificate, equalities and child protection certificate.

My Availability

Mon to Fri: 7.30am to 6.00pm although a slight difference in time could be sorted out.

Every other Saturday for fun weekend outings £7.00 an hour (Vacancy ).
I can work odd Saturday s if required, or one off day care.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/12/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.40 per hour

Mon to Fri:
£5.40 per hour Saturdays £ 7.00 per hour

I am an accredited childminder so can offer the free 15hrs for 3yr olds.

I except all employers vouchers schemes.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Kate0012. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Kate and her husband Lawrence having been looking after our youngest daughter and we could not be more happy with them. We were a little nervous as our other two children did not go to nursery until they were two years old. Everything went exceptionally smoothly and we could not have asked for better childminders! Their house has a large converted floor for the children, as well as a huge outdoor area full of playground equipment. The children are provided with delicious and nutritious meals everyday and often go on exciting outings during the day. It is clear that Kate and Lawrence care for every child that they look after and we are lucky to have them in our lives.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Kate0012 on 07/11/2018

My Daughter has been going to Kate and Lawrence for just under a year now and I am so happy with the care they have provided her. I was really torn whether or not to send her to a nursery or a childminder, but I am so glad I ended up going with Kate. Her communication throughout the day is amazing, and she always responds promptly to any question or query I may have and sends regular updates. The children take part in a range of activities and play and even go out of the house to the park or to various classes. The small group of children that are cared for throughout the day means my daughter get the attention, support and love that every Mother would like for their child. There are a range of ages in the children Kate cares for, so it's a fantastic learning environment for them all. I have noticed improvements in my child's mental and physical development since she started. I am so happy with care Kate and Lawrence have provided my daughter, I cant recommend them enough!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Kate0012 on 05/09/2018

Kate and her husband Lawrence have helped give my son a wonderful start in life. The children have a fantastic time in the playroom and brilliant garden, and go on fun outings where they get lots of exercise. They also build lovely friendships with each other and learn how to play with others of different ages. Kate and Lawrence are incredibly reliable and trustworthy, and they are great at staying in touch during they day. They are always there to listen and talk about the children, and they really do get to know them all as individuals and respond to their particular needs. The children are treated with total respect and care, and we would warmly recommend them to other families.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Kate0012 on 24/08/2016

My daughter has been with Kate for four years, and will soon be leaving to start school.

My daughter has had a wonderful four years with Kate - we trust her completely and are extremely happy with the care she has provided since our daughter was a 6 month old baby. Our daughter has experienced a wide range of activities during her time with Kate, including regular outings to toddler groups and trips to Milton Country Park, the Maize Maze, indoor play centres, outdoor parks, bowling, and even to see age-appropriate shows at local theatres! Kate also has a large, comfortable, and well-equipped playroom at home, and when it's dry the children also enjoy a good play in the garden with trikes, balls, and other outside toys.

We really like the home environment Kate provides for our daughter - self-led activities such as playing dolls, doctors and nurses, etc, with the other children is balanced with organised activities such as bug hunts and arts and crafts. We really could not be happier with the care our daughter has received with Kate :)

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Kate0012 on 02/09/2014

My 3 y/o son has been with Kate since he was ten months old and he has a lovely relationship with her. I cannot recommend Kate highly enough: she is calm, kind and professional. She does so many activities with the children such as nature walks, theatre trips, soft-play and singing and craft groups. She makes sure the children get plenty of fresh air and exercise. Her playroom is lovely and bright and clean and my son has lots of fun playing with water etc in her garden, which is perfectly set up for little ones.
I always feel my son is stimulated at Kate’s and his language has come on brilliantly. He is happy and relaxed with her and he always comes home having had fun and full of tales about what they did today. She also does a good job of nurturing friendships and good social behaviour between the children and recently I have felt that she is preparing him for school very well in terms of structure and social behaviour.
Kate’s communication is something I have greatly appreciated about her. She always gives me a very full account of his day and she’s talked to me a lot about things like toilet training, being very supportive of my choices. I'm really happy that I found Kate.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Kate0012 on 13/02/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.