image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

Childminder in Barnet

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2012 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 30 Nov 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

I have a Monday to Friday space available from January 2021.

Please let me know if you might need to start before then: I plan to do some settling-in with other new children in December 2020, so it could work for your child to start their attendance then, and settle-in just before.

We'll spend our days playing at my house, and out-and-about in the fantastic parks and green spaces that we have locally. Our garden is big and has artificial grass for year-round play. We spend all day singing and reading and dancing and making and exploring. We get messy and we have fun.

We've got plenty of space here and can keep some physical distance from each other if required. Babies and tiny ones need physical contact and to feel secure, and I'll always provide comfort and cuddles. We'll only start to attend select playgroups and other activity centres when it's clearly safe to do so. Until then we'll stay close to home and will meet up outdoors with other good childminder settings so that your child's social circle is wide and varied, while keeping them safe in the bubble that we'll create.

I used a childminder for my eldest daughter and I understand all of the practicalities of returning to work and the emotions involved in placing your child in the care of another. I encourage lots of contact between us before your first day back, so that you'll feel like you know us really well and have clear knowledge of what your child's day here will be like. Then you'll be able to concentrate fully and with confidence on all of the challenges that your working day will bring. I'm honest and reliable, and once we start working together I view us as members of a close-knit team, dedicated to the safety and wellbeing of your child.

I take my career progression seriously and arrange lots of additional training courses, most recently in outdoor play and early years mental health. I have a good relationship with local children's centres and nurseries, and represent district childminders on various panels. I'm part of a local childminding network in which we share ideas and research, to ensure best-practice and to develop further as professionals.

I'll tune-in to your child and plan learning experiences designed to inspire and delight them. Unlike nurseries I can change plans quickly and easily based on how your child is feeling and I'll respond immediately to their needs. I hope that your child will love their time here, having lots of fun and making their first friends.

My Experience

I've been childminding for ten years. Before that, I worked in film and TV production and post-production. Handily, both careers utilise my skills in nurturing talent, planning and organising, and my limitless patience!

I'm well-experienced in the transition from at-home care, to nursery/pre-school, to school. I understand the schools' approach to teaching Literacy and Numeracy in the reception year and beyond and can lay excellent groundwork for this, and support them with their learning across the curriculum as they progress at school.

My husband John is a therapist and I have two daughters: Sasha aged 12, and Ava aged 14. My mum Barbara lives with us too, and has her own rooms in the house. We have a soppy, gentle labradoodle called Ronnie and he stays in my Mum's room during working hours, unless the children request some time with him and this of course is closely supervised. The warm and welcoming multi-generational environment here is one that previous clients have commented on, saying that their children have loved feeling like they're part of a family here. We'll certainly welcome your child into it.

My husband runs his own practice and is the sole occupant of his office. Currently he runs his sessions online instead of in-person. My children attend QE Girls School and it operates under strict Covid-19 safety guidelines. They shower and change as soon as they return home, as does John. My Mum is in the extremely vulnerable group, so we're all very careful around any potential risk of infection.

My Qualifications

I have a three A-levels and a degree in English Literature and Communication
I also have a Diploma in Children and Young People's Workforce, Level 3
I have a Paediatric First Aid qualification and various safeguarding and general training certificates.
I hold a Bronze Award from Healthy Early Years London

My Availability

One place can be for a baby under the age of 1.
I'm registered for overnight care.
I don't currently provide before-school drop offs or after-school pick ups.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 21/10/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £7.00 per hour

I charge per day, at a rate of £70. My usual hours are 8am to 5.30pm.
Breakfast, lunch and snacks are included in my daily rate.
Entrance to soft play, farms, playgroups etc are included in my daily rate.
I take 4-weeks paid holiday each year, during school holidays.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 08/04/2020)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.