Nanny in Canterbury

Babysitter in Canterbury

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2012 Last Updated Oct 2018 Last Login Aug 2019 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience

About Me

Hi I'm Polly, I am 30 years old and live in Canterbury west with my husband.

I am looking for a family who need me! I am available evenings and weekends as well as out of school holidays (as i work term time only) please note as of February I will be off on maternity leave so will be available every day, I would be looking for a role that enabled me to include my baby such as school drop off and pick ups and would be happy to take care of the children at my home or the families home depending on needs of individuals.

I am a caring, friendly, and adventurous person who loves to get creative! I enjoy long muddy walks in the woods, and being by the seaside.

My Experience

Personal Assistant (1st August 2012-present)

Caring for 5 year old twin girls out of term time.

My main duties included assisting the mother of the children with days out such as swimming, horse riding, cycling etc ensuring both girls are able to participate safely in the same fun activities.

One of the girls suffers from an undiagnosed disability, and it is her that I principally cared for. Through caring for this child I have gained experience in using:
communication techniques that help the child make her needs known, namely eye pointing and some signing.

a Gastrostomy tube feeding system.

walking frames and other assistive equipment.

physiotherapy techniques to enable correct positioning.

Babysitting (2011-present )

Babysitting for two children aged 2 and 6 years old, 2-3 evenings a week.
My main duties include helping with the bed time routine and being in the house until mum gets home.

Mothers help/nanny March 2011-October 2011)

Helping to care for 3 children with English as an additional language aged new born to 3 years old after school and during school holidays.
My main role was to assist the children’s mother with the day to day care of all three children at the family’s home and on outings. Responsibilities included feeding and changing the new born baby and helping with the dinner and bedtime routine. I also engaged in creative, physical and imaginative play with the two elder children.

Nanny (May 2010-September 2010)

Sole charge of a child aged 3 years during out of term time.

My main duties included caring for the child in their own home and taking the child on short excursions e.g. cycling and swimming.

I also prepared healthy meals, including dinner, when assisting with the bedtime routine.



Pre-school Assistant (2005-2012)

In this role I was responsible for caring for children aged 2-4 years old in a pre-school setting, providing a safe, secure environment and ensuring my group of key children, their parents and carers feel welcome.

My main duties included:
preparing the pre-school for the arrival of the children
arranging activities based on daily planning requirements and individual children’s needs.
Arranging a fun and stimulating environment.
Settling children into the setting, and being available to parents and carers if they have any questions or issues

Working with other members of staff in the day to day running of the pre-school; this includes free-flow activities indoors and outside. I plan, prepare and deliver activities for my group of key children.

It is my responsibility to observe my group of key children and plan for them individually, using the early year’s foundation stage guidance to ensure their needs and individual interests are met.

2012- present primary school (early years)

In 2012 I left the pre school to start a new adventure, I was moving to Canterbury and wanted to gain a deeper knowledge of teaching in the early years. I am currently working within a Canterbury primary school as a higher level teaching assistant.

I cover classes for some afternoons a week and work solely in intervention groups for children who need extra support, or who are developing significantly beyond their age, therefore needing extensions and more challenging.

In this role I have furthered my knowledge of the early years and gone on to work with children in developing their numeracy and literacy skills as well as all other areas of the early years foundation stage.

I specialize in phonic, speech and language, and reading interventions. I believe the advantage of these skills is that I could bring them to any family of any age, that I was working with, in a fun and age appropriate way through play and day to day exploration. I have particularly enjoyed supporting children with English as an additional language this year.

My Qualifications

Canterbury College (2008-2009) - NVQ Level 3 in Childcare and Education.

Canterbury College (2004-2005) - CACHE Level 2 Certificate in Childcare and Education.

Successfully completed many training courses including the following:

Wellbeing and involvement.

Kent Foundation Stage ICT.

Inclusion and Equalities.

Completed a recent first aid course, for adults and children.

My Availability

I am available at weekends, all day.

From 4pm onwards in the week.

PLEASE NOTE as of February 19 I will be off on maternity leave so my hours will become a lot more flexible- I will be looking for a position that allows me to include the baby such as drop off and pick ups from school.

I work term time only as a higher level teaching assistant, so a role in the holidays would be perfect. I hold a full UK driving licence.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 10/10/2018

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £9.00 per hour (gross)

Negotiable :)

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.