5 stars (4)

Childminder in Inverkip

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2009 Last Updated Aug 2018 Last Login 24 Sep 2018 Email Website

My Summary

Scotland Care Inspectorate Registered
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

*** FULL OR PART TIME PLUS BEFORE AND AFTER SCHOOL SPACE NOW AVAILABLE *****

I have been registered since 2004 and I am inspected regularly by the Care Inspectorate.

I live on Langhouse Road, Inverkip with my husband of 32 years and our youngest son aged 17. Our other son is 30 and a flight lieutenant in the RAF, he lives away from home.

We have 2 dogs Reuben, an Irish Setter who is 9 and Woody a Chihuahua who is 2. Although they are very gentle dogs they are not left unattended with children in my care.

I've held a full, clean UK driving license for 30 years.

I was awarded 3 grade 6"s which are classed as excellent at my recent Care Inspectorate inspection in May 2018.



I am very much an outdoor childminder, if the weather is suitable we will usually be found out and about in the local woods, local parks and beaches. We spend lots of days at Kelburn Country Park, Finlaystone, Largs etc. These are all reasonably local with only short car journeys required. We also regularly use the local museums, soft play centres, libraries, Bookbug and toddler group.

In the holidays we usually pack up the car early and head out for the day.

All outings are included in the cost of childcare so you don't have the worry of paying extra for trips.

I have a playroom available for the children when the weather is too wet, cold or windy. There is a vast range of toys and resources for arts and crafts.

The rear garden is secure and has an excellent range of play equipment to suit all ages and stages of development.

Outdoor play is important and easy access to garden is always available from the playroom.

I am happy to drop off and collect from Inverkip nursery class and Inverkip Primary School.

My Experience

I have attended lots of training sessions including:

First aid for babies and children.
Child protection.
Elementary food hygiene.
Capability Scotland(everybody in) training.
Oral health.
Fire safety.
Ages and stages of development.
Causes of behaviour problems.
Developing positive relationships.
Managing misbehaviour 1 and 2
Pre birth to 3
Curriculum for excellence
GIRFEC
Safe and secure
Child led planning
Infection prevention control in a childcare setting

These courses are refreshed on a regular basis.I keep up to date with all legislation as directed by SCSWIS.

I have newborn experience.
I have twins experience.

My Qualifications

I am committed to attending all courses relevant to childcare as and when they become available.

My Availability

Conditions of Registration

To provide a care service to a maximum of 6 children at any one time under the age of 16, of whom a maximum of 6 will be
under 12, of whom no more than 3 are not yet attending primary school and no more than 1 is under 12 months. This is inclusive
of children of the childminder's family.

I usually know in advance if a space is due to become available so Please call for current availability.

Before and after school care
Full time
Part time
Holidays only care

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 11/08/2018

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.25 per hour

Please call for fee details.
I am paid in advance either weekly or monthly .

My Local Schools

My Documents

Warning

This provider has not yet uploaded any documents for validation. Read our Safety Centre and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Lorna Mc. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My two almost three year old boy has been with Lorna for the past two years. The environment in Lorna's house is excellent, it's safe, fun filled with lot's of toys and activities and Luke get's loads of interaction with Lorna and the other children.
The outdoor activities this year have been amazing and have been
important for Luke's development. Already I can see the benefit of Lorna's variety of activities, a few to mention would be visits to Kelburn, Finnlatstone, Science Centre, outdoor cache.
Luke has a great relationship with Lorna and all her family, as do I, he looks forward to his time with Lorna, she is a very important part of our lives. Lorna has played a massive part to Luke's development this past year, he is fully potty trained, his speech is coming along great, he brushes his teeth regulary. I would not hesitate in recommending Lorna to any mum or dad that's looking for a chilminder. I have total peace of mind when Im at work, I believe she is the best.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lorna Mc on 26/11/2013

My son has been going to Lorna's for 1.5 years. He goes 3 days a week and loves going to her house to be with her family and other children. I actually struggle to get him home at the end of the day.

Lorna is an excellent childminder. She is very hard working, professional and reliable. She provides healthy snacks, lots of fun, stimulating and educational activities both indoors and outdoors.

As a parent I feel very happy and secure, while at work, knowing that my son is in a safe, caring, fun & happy environment when he is in Lorna’s care.

I would highly recommend Lorna to anyone as she is a fantastic Childminder!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lorna Mc on 21/12/2011

Lorna has been my childminder for 5 years and has provided me with a really good service. Lorna is reliable, trustworthy, friendly and provides all the kids with 'home from home' care. Her childminding facilities provide the kids with a wide range of activities to suit all ages. Also lorna provides lots of different outdoor activities including the beach and parks. As well as being an excellent childminder, she is a really good friend.

My wee boy says ' I like going to Lornas house for two days after school and I miss being there all day. I like playing toys and made lots of friends. I love you so much'.

I would highly recommend Lornas service to anyone and I know that your kid would have a ball!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lorna Mc on 20/12/2011

Lorna has been looking after my two year old son for 6 months now. He goes one day a week and loves going to see Lorna and the other children who attend.

She provides numerous and varied activites for him whilst he is there and my kitchen wall is full of arts and crafts. He also regularly goes to local parks, toddlers,and has visited kelburn and a local museum which he has thoroughly enjoyed.

Lorna provides a daily diary which tells me all about his day and can be used to look back at milestones including the day he first walked and development of language etc.

I am happy to place my son in Lorna's care and would recommend her as a childminder to other parents who require one.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lorna Mc on 14/12/2011

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.