Avatar for Mummy Sparkle
Mummy Sparkle

Childminder in Potters Bar

5 stars
(1)

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Member since Aug 2012 Last Updated Feb 2022 Last Login 13 Aug 2022

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Outstanding Rated
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Welcome . One of the hardest choices you face is finding just the right kind of childcare for your child. My aim is to provide a welcoming, loving environment where your child can be safe, secure and develop as a valued individual.


My Background
I have three grown up children of my own (girl, boy, girl) and my husband is Mark, who is employed by Hertfordshire County Council supporting childrens libraries in schools. I have worked as a child minder since 1996 when my youngest child started nursery school and my oldest child began secondary school. Over the years I have looked after children of all ages but mainly from aged 0 to 8.

I take my role as a childminder seriously and approach the care and development of the children with professionalism and to standards that meet or exceed those set by the National Child Minding Association (NCMA) and OFSTED.

I am registered with Ofsted as a Childminder with a grade of Outstanding
(Ofsted registration Numbert can be given to read my Ofsted report)
References are availble.

My Experience

I have worked in the past as an NCMA Childminding Buddy -- helping newly registered childminders to establish their child care settings.

I have also worked as a Community Childcare Childminder -- with Hertfordshire County Councils childrens Schools and Families Department to provide emergency or urgent childcare at short notice.

Care Setting
I have a four bed-roomed end-of-terrace house. There is a small hallway where the children leave their footwear and a cupboard where they hang their coats.
Much of the activity takes place in the adjacent playroom. I have a large cupboard filled with a variety of toys and games which I change regularly on a rota basis (eg Duplo, dolls, action figures etc). I also have access to a large range of childrens books. The TV, DVD player and Wii box is in the lounge and the children have access to carefully selected (and rationed) childrens TV programmes, DVDs and Wii games.

Some activities take place in the kitchen. Painting and crafts are done at a table.
There is a toilet with adjacent wash basin located downstairs. This is very convenient for small children when they start to be potty trained.

Outside
I have a good sized, secure back garden with a large patio area. This incorporates a large wooden play house and a variety of garden toys such as Little Tykes tricycles and cars along with small see-saws and similar equipment. In summer I have a sandpit and paddling pool. We have a good lawn area and ball games can be played here. I have a wooden storage shed where I store a large collection of different play equipment. I have recently started a vegetable garden where the children can help plant, grow and harvest vegetables.

My Qualifications

Knowledge, Skills and Training
I spend a considerable amount of my free time ensuring my skills and child care knowledge are up to date. I have undertaken such training as

EARLY YEARS PRACTICE- The Open University
CACHE Level 3 Certificate in Childminding (completed)
ELAN: Infant and Child Certificate in First Aid (updated)
Young in Herts: Child Protection
Young in Herts: Healthy Eating healthy Child 5-14 yrs
Young in Herts: Leaning Through Play, 0-4 yrs
Young in Herts: Leaning Through Play, balancing the adult role
(many inhouse training Certificates are availble with Young In Herts and NCMA)
Food and Hygiene
Safeguarding Children
Myself and family members am CRB checked

Ofsted grading since 2007 of Outstanding on 3 consecutive inspections

My Availability

Admissions
I work Mondays to Fridays (7.30am to 6.00pm) and provide care to any child aged 0 to 8 (providing I have spaces available). I have a firm Equal Opportunities Policy in place and will welcome any child regardless of gender, race, religion and social or ethnic background. The only considerations are of a practical nature ie my current school run is to Little Heath School -- so cannot normally collect and take to other schools.

My decision on whether or not to accept a child into my care is based on whether I am able to meet the childs needs.

Vacancies

Part Time
After School

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no yes yes yes no no no
Morning no yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon no yes yes yes no no no
After School no yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 25/02/2022

My Fees

  • Childminding from £7.00 per hour

Tariff
Full time
Full-time £7.00 hour

Part time £7.00
Before school £15..00 per session (from 7.30am (includes breakfast)
Before School £10.00 per session (from 8.00am)
After school £20.00 per session (includes tea)
School holidays £7.00 per hour

Fees payable in advance
(Fees are per child)

Please feel free to ask for advice and discuss your requirements.

Lorraine x

My Local Schools

My Ofsted Inspections

The inspection grades below have been obtained from the Ofsted website based upon the registration number the childminder has provided to us. You should verify this information yourself prior to using the childminder.

Ofsted Good Provider Logo
Good
3 March 2022
20 July 2016 - Outstanding
Show previous inspections
Hide previous inspections

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Mummy Sparkle. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Lorraine has looked after our 2 year-old daughter for a year now, and our daughter loves being there, and likes being with the other children that are there.

Lorraine does lots of different activities with the children, including going to playgroups, playgrounds and farms, water play in the garden, and lots of arts and crafts. She also has a great selection of toys in her home for the little ones and the older kids.

Lorraine is a lovely, very warm and bubbly person. She teaches the children good manners and is very fair. She clearly loves looking after children.

She is reliable and organised, and has helped us out with extra days when we have had to work.

We really appreciate Lorraine, the good care she provides, and all of the fun too! ? We'd happily provide a recommendation.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for lauranda lauranda about Avatar for Mummy Sparkle Mummy Sparkle on 03/09/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.