"She let me down before I even started with her"

1 stars review of Ankle biters - Childminder in Doncaster

Avatar for Ankle biters

Ankle biters

View Profile


1 stars Reviewed

She let me down before I even started with her

I agreed with Nicky in May to look after my daughter from September. She gave me the contracts to read at home, and then told me she didn’t fill out the price as she’ll still need to work it out. She messaged me the figures which were more than we originally agreed on. I asked for a price breakdown as I couldn't make the prices and hours we spoke about match up, out of nowhere she told me that she decided to not take on my daughter as I didn’t seem happy with her contract. This happened 2 weeks before the agreed start date in September . I told her she had left me in a very difficult situation and she didn't need to go about it like that, all I wanted was a written break down of the figures and I asked her to change her mind about not taking my daughter. She never replied. I wouldn’t recommend her and if you already use her, please do check what you’re paying for. Luckily for me my bosses were very understanding about the very difficult situation I was left in 2 weeks before the start of term, and they agreed changing my working hours as I was unable to find another childminder in such a short notice.

  • 1 stars Overall
  • 1 stars Setting
  • 1 stars Cleanliness
  • 1 stars Food
  • 1 stars Communication

by Avatar for Hdiana Hdiana

Response from Ankle biters

Hi Diana
I am sorry you feel this way.
It is common practice within childcare that if a child doesn't attend you still pay for the day or place that you are allocated, which you expressed you wasn't happy with.
The price was not included because it would change and the over all figure that I gave you was only a guideline as each month would fluctuate and I raise invoices each month accordingly .
I advised you on the 21st of August that I wouldn't be taking you on and you wasn't due to start until the 20th of September which is 4 weeks.
The reason for my decision was due to non agreement on fees.
My fees are very competitive with those in my area, this is the first time I have experienced this with a parent and I am saddened that the review of my services does not reflect my setting as your child never even started with me.
Kind regards