
Childminder in Littlehampton

Babysitter in Littlehampton

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2013 Last Updated Aug 2017 Last Login Jul 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

I am an OFSTED registered childminder, I have been rated Outstanding by Ofsted in June 2017. I am able to mind babies, early years, and school aged children. I live in a three bedroom house in Littlehampton, West Sussex, with my husband Stuart and our two children Brandon aged 17, and Lauren aged 8.
I was working for a major building society for many years, which i did really enjoy, however after having my daughter four years ago (and at the start of the recession too) i really felt that i wanted a career change. I always loved the idea of working with children and so many of my 'mummy friends' pointed out to me that i would be very good at it, so i decided to become a childminder and have not looked back! I love my job so much.

I follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage, so the planned activities that I do with the children under 5 (early years) will be covering the seven areas of learning and development: Communication and language, Physical development, Personal, social and emotional development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the world, and Expressive arts and design. I will ensure that these planned activities are stimulating, and that they are adapted to your child's interests and needs. I teach your children through play. I will observe their development and record these observations in a system I use called Babysdays, which you can see at any time as you will be given your own log in details. I will also like to review their development with you at regular intervals. Your child will also have a daily diary which will also be on Babysdays, i will note down what we have done that day and add photos.
Our days will be filled with not only planned activities, but also free play, arts and crafts, baking, music, garden play, outings and attending groups where your children can socialize with a wider range of children and make more friends. We will socialise with other local childminders on a regular basis and I am part of a larger group of childminders called.
We will also have topics from time to time, such as 'Foods From Around The World' and 'Seasons And Weather', 'Shapes and Colors', 'Farm Animals', and 'Plants And Nature'.
I have a ever expanding wide range of toys, equipment and books for all ages and abilities. We also visit the toy library where we can borrow more toys. We also make our own toys from time to time too, such as puppets made out of wooden spoons and musical instruments made out of milk bottles.

I have many, many policies and risk assessments that i have produced to ensure the safety of your children, these are very important and are shown to you when your child starts with me, and available at any time to look at on Babysdays. I review these on a regular basis.

I also offer a settling in arrangement where you and your child can spend a couple of 2 hour sessions with me for free of charge before he/she officially starts with me.

My childminding setting is my family home in Littlehampton, the children that i mind will have the the whole of the downstairs, plus one bedroom upstairs for napping and occasionally playing, and the garden.
My setting is a lovely homely environment that will make your child feel secure and happy. 'It is a home from home'.
The downstairs consists of the entrance hall (where your child can hang up their coats and bags on their little pegs), a downstairs toilet (complete with low sink, step stall, and potty), a kitchen/diner (used for snack times, meal times, baking and cookery, play time and arts and crafts), the living room (used for play time, quiet/rest time, reading, music, and art).
The garden is one of the best features at the setting, is very fun to explore as it has a lot of different areas to play in. It is well enclosed, not overlooked and has a two bolt gate which is always locked. It has play equipment for different ages. I also have a large bouncy castle that we get out on sunny days. There are also plenty of garden toys to play with too such as scooters/trikes/bikes and bowling, golf and cricket and a lovely wooden play house and mud kitchen.
I do prefer to keep the children all downstairs with me as i would like them to be close by at all times, however the upstairs bedroom is available to be used for the napping of 'light sleepers' and is equipped with a monitor. This bedroom will also occasionally be available for playing in (free play). This bedroom is actually my daughter's room, hence the pink colors and castle!

I am lucky enough to be within walking distance to parks, the library and the beach, which we will regularly go on outings to. I will always prefer to walk on outings rather than use the car, as i encourage a healthy lifestyle for my minded children and exercise is part of that, however i do have a fully insured and regularly serviced comfortable seven seater Ford Galaxy, which is equipped with age appropriate car seats for outings that require transport.

I live next to the Peter Pans Pre School, which my daughter did attend before starting River Beach Primary. I am also close to Magical Steps, Butterfly House Day Nursery, Littlehampton Day Nursery, and Ticklemetoo.

I am able to take school children and pick them up River Beach Primary School. As my daughter attends there I have close connections with the school.

My Experience

I am an OFSTED registered childminder, and a mother of two children. Being a mother for the past 17 years has given me the most valuable experience in my opinion to be a successful childminder, i am sure that all of you mothers will agree with that- being a mother is the most hardest job there is but it is also the absolute most rewarding too! That is why i am so excited to be childminding. Therefore i have bags of patience and lots of fun and exciting ideas to give your child the brightest of beginnings.

My Qualifications

My Husband, Son and I have both had the Disclosure and Barring check (previously known as CRB), i am trained in Pediatric First Aid, I have completed the Home based Childminding Course, known as CYPOP 5. I also have a level 3 diploma in working with children and young people.I also have certificates in Food Hygiene and Safety, in Health and Safety, in Risk Assessments, in Manual Handling and i have attended the Fire Safety Course for Childminders. I also regularly attend more training sessions as a way to improve and develop myself and my service to you and your little ones.
I am a member of the Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years (PACEYS), formally known as NCMA. I am also fully insured through them.

My Availability

My usual working hours are 8am till 6pm, however i can be flexible so please just ask.

I do currently have limited spaces, but this can change.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 20/07/2017

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £5.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

Fees:

£4.00 per hour for all ages, full time contracted hours (30+ hours per week)

£4.50 per hour for all ages, part time contracted hours.(1-34 hours per week)

10% discount for siblings, the discount applies to the second or third child.....

For term time only contracts, i charge an extra £1 per hour.

I will charge a minimum of 2 hours for before and after school care, and any daytime care will be a minimum of 6 hours charged per day. Also a minimum of 12 hours per week.

The fees above are for my usual working hours between the hours of 8am and 6pm. For hours outside this there will be an additional £1 per hour.

Prices include healthy snacks, milk and water, but not meals.

You can provide your children with their own meals for breakfast and lunch, which i would be happy to serve to them provided they are healthy and nutritious, or i can provide them for £1 for breakfast and £2 for lunch and £3 for dinner.


Healthy Eating:

I will not offer or encourage any unhealthy snacks such as sweets, chocolate, biscuits, cakes or crisps, instead i will offer bread sticks, fresh fruit, crackers, rice cakes, yogurts, vegetable sticks, raisins, and cheese. I do make an exception to biscuits and cakes when we have baked them ourselves, as i try to adjust recipes to reduce sugar etc and it is part of the learning experience for them to try their finished product.

The drinks i provide will only be water and milk, to prevent tooth decay.


The meals i will provide to your child will be home made, nutritious, and part of a balanced diet. I will encourage your children to help me plan the meals ahead and help me prepare them too, as advised in the Physical development area of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.


Some examples of the breakfasts i could provide are healthy cereals, porridge, toast, eggs and soldiers, fresh fruit and yogurt.......


Some examples of the lunches i could provide are sandwiches/rolls/wraps (preferable wholewheat but i understand children can be fussy) with healthy fillings, soups, pasta......


Some examples of the dinners we may have are Spaghetti bolognese with hidden vegetables , Stir Fries made with lean meat and vegetables, Homemade chicken nuggets and homemade chips served with peas and sweetcorn, Shepherds pie served with vegetables, Macaroni Cheese served with vegetables, Risottos made with vegetables, Homemade pizzas with healthy toppings.......


Some examples of the puddings i will provide are Fruit salad, Sugar free jelly, Home made frozen yogurt lollies, Home made fruit crumble/pies.......


With regards to babies (under 1), i would like parents to provide the bottles, and milk formula/breast milk. Parents can provide me with any of the babies 3 meals for the day and i would be happy to feed it to them, and i would be equally happy to blend up the dinners that i make for the older children and charge £1.50 instead of £3.00.


I will also follow any weaning, dietary or allergy requirements you advise me of.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.