image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in London

5 stars
(7)

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2013 Last Updated Jan 2021 Last Login 26 Jan 2021 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor

About Me

I am a disciplined and hard-working person who is committed to the education and welfare of children. I have experience working with children up to the age of 14 years old.
My communication and management skills are excellent as I can encourage children to achieve their potential by stimulating their imagination and enthusiasm for learning.
I am extremely patient, have the ability to engage pupils through my creativity, commitment and calming temperament.
I plan lessons and activities for children so they can be engaged in the learning process. I strongly believe children need to get a solid education from a young age.
My aim is to help children become confident individuals with a fundamental belief in their abilities.

My Experience

Teaching privately and at schools has given me the opportunity to communicate with a broad range of parents and children effectively. I listen to the child's needs and I talk to the parents regularly to ensure the goals are set appropriately and completed on time.
I make sure the lessons are fun and engaging so the child can feel confident in their knowledge and ability. I like to encourage and motivate them for their future and boost their confidence in trying to do more.
I have over seven years of experience working with children with special educational needs, as well as children with different abilities.
I worked as a primary school teacher in London and I currently tutor children privately supporting them with English, Maths and Handwriting securing their knowledge and working according to the National Curriculum.
I also teach piano and music theory.

My Qualifications

MA Human Rights Law
BA in Music Education - Music Teacher
Qualified teacher status(QTS)
British Red Cross certificate for First Aid
140-hour Premier TEFL course - Teaching English as a foreign language

My Availability

On Maternity Leave.
Please contact me to discuss my availability.
I currently teach via ZOOM.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 13/01/2021

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £35.00 per hour

£20 per child/per hr for group session up to 4 children
£30 per hour for online tuition
£35 per hours for face to face tuition at my place

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Reference: handwriting before and after (added 29/03/2018)
  • DBS Check (added 05/03/2018)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for AlexMira. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Aleks has been fantastic with both my daughters. She initially taught my 10 year old year Maths, She was moving to a private school and just needed some confidence to work at the higher lever. She loved the lessons and easily ticked off a subject a week and Aleks would give her homework to talk through the following week. We then introduced her 9 year old sister who has been having handwriting lessons, she initially struggled to concentrate for the hour but Aleks made the lessons interesting, in 4 lessons her writing is much easier to read having gone back to basics and not joining letters and I’m confident in another 4 she will be joining up again.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for cclc cclc about Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 12/12/2020

Aleks was tasked with bringing my 7 year old up to speed principally with his reading in a very short space of time during the COVID-19 lockdown.
She managed to do that and more. Aleks was able to help my 7 year old with his comprehension when reading and intonation as well as understanding of what he was reading.
She has been patient but mostly encouraging which is key to any child's success.
Thank you Aleks for your time and we shall be in touch again soon to start some more sessions at the start of the new school year.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Natasha1 Natasha1 about Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 27/07/2020


Response by Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 27/07/2020:

Thank you for the kind words, Natasha!
It was a pleasure to work with your son in the past months and I look forward to our future lessons.

Aleks' tuition sessions have been invaluable at a time when I am at home supporting two children on my own while schools are closed. I have seen my 5yo daughter progress with her phonics and reading remarkably. Keeping her focused and engaged is something of a challenge, but Aleks' interaction with her has been patient, friendly and encouraging. Aleks provides learning materials and sets appropriate homework tasks that are both fun and educational. Despite only having access to virtual-based lessons at this time, Aleks has built a connection with us and always asks for feedback to ensure that she is helping my daughter learn in the best way for her. If you are looking for a tutor that gets to know your child, is enthusiastic in the delivery of her lessons, and has a genuine care for children and supporting their development, then Aleks is the one.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Kara Kara about Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 15/04/2020


Response by Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 27/07/2020:

Thank you so much for the lovely worlds, Kara!
Your daughter is improving so much and she would be a little start in year 1 this September :)

wonderful tutor, would recommend.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for hannah hannah about Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 13/04/2020


Response by Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 27/07/2020:

Thank you, Hannah! It was such pleasure working with your and your son and I hope we can resume the lessons soon!

I have been using Alex's services for two years now and quite honestly it is the best decision that I ever made in helping my daughter overcome her 'fear' of maths! My daughter was in Year 5 when we started and was in the middle set and really struggled. With Alex's help, she absolutely smashed her SAT's and is now in the higher/advanced set for maths in Secondary school. Alex is still tutoring my daughter in maths which she still thoroughly enjoys and Alex is now also tutoring my younger two as well; at the moment it's just their handwriting but I will be extending. Alex's style works very well with my children and they really do enjoy their sessions with her.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for yummymum yummymum about Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 13/04/2020


Response by Avatar for AlexMira AlexMira on 13/04/2020:

Thank you so much!

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.