Avatar for Ms Siri

Ms Siri

Private Tutor in Lincoln

Usually responds within 3 days

Female Member since Jul 2015 Last Updated Sep 2023 Last Login Jan 2024

My Summary

English Tutor
Art Tutor
Secondary 12+

About Me

My name is Ishani Siriwardena but I have been more commonly known in the classroom as Ms Siri. After four years of teaching in schools in Lincolnshire, I had a revelation! My favourite moments in the classroom have always been those quiet conversations with individual students during and after classes that often lead to major learning breakthroughs. And that's when I realised that, with only a small change, I could dedicate my career to being in this role.

My Experience

I qualified as a teacher with Bishop Grosseteste University College, Lincoln in 2011. My training schools included Christ Hospital, Banovallum and De Aston. I taught English and Media at Sir William Robertson School for three years and then spent a year at North Kesteven teaching English and Communication & Culture with added responsibility in developing Key Stage 3 to support the requirements of the new national curriculum and GCSEs. I have also privately tutored and mentored special needs students under the 'son-rise' programme and taught English as a foreign language to adults and students in India and Romania. I have tutored for five years.

My Qualifications

I have 12 GCSEs at A grade or higher, A2-Levels in Music, History, Art and English Literature (B, A, A, A respectively) and a masters level degree in English at Pembroke University College, Cambridge. Finally, I completed my PGCE successfully at Bishop Grosseteste University, Lincoln. While my academic track record speaks for itself in terms of achievement, I have not always found learning easy and am skilled in supporting learners of all age and abilities.

My Availability

I have plenty of slots available.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no yes no
Morning no no yes yes no yes no
Afternoon yes yes no no no yes no
After School yes no no no no no no
Evening yes no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 18/09/2023

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

Subject and Qualification Cost
11-14 KS3 English and/or general support £25.00 p/hr
English as a Second Language £25.00 p/hr
GCSE English Language / Literature £30.00 p/hr
GCSE Art £30.00 p/hr
A Level English Literature £30.00 p/hr
A Level English Language £30.00 p/hr
A Level Art £30.00 p/hr
Literacy support, proof reading and guidance with regards to NVQ or work-related qualifications £30 p/hr
Guidance in University Admissions £35* p/hr
Undergraduate Degree English Language / Literature £35 p/hr

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 18/09/2023)
  • Exam Certificate: BA and MA Certificate (added 06/04/2020)
  • Training Certificate: Qualified Teacher Status (added 06/04/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.