Shirley

Private Tutor in Newington Green

Babysitter in Newington Green

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2016 Last Updated Feb 2021 Last Login Feb 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Primary up to 11 years
Emergency Babysitter
Home School Helper

About Me

Structure, respect and communication are my key essentials to support pupils with or without special needs and attend to their specific needs.

I am 29 years old, originally from Belgium (fluent English/French speaker) who recently qualified as a Special Need Teacher (SEN) (ASD)- I have been working with children for the last 9 years and have been able to build strong experiences across different settings and age range- Adult with down syndromes, youth and young children with autism and pupils with multiple specific needs.
I'm currently working at the Garden school as A Special Need Teacher, supporting pupils with Autism. My role is to provide a safe, low arousal and predictable environment to support the pupils learning whilst reducing the possible anxiety they may experience throughout the day. A crucial aspect of my work is to ensure that communication is promoted at all times in order to support the pupils expressive and spoken language through the use of symbols, AAC device, PECS, MAKATON and visuals tailored the pupil's needs.
To enable learning, increase independence and promote the pupils' interactions and communication I designed fun, engaging, meaningful lessons and activities by working in partnership with a team of 5 Teaching assistant and different professionals such as speech and language therapist, occupational therapist and psychologist.
The approach used and followed within the school is SCERTS- Social, Communication, Emotional Regulation and Transactional Support which guide my practice in focusing on each pupils as unique individuals.

Managing and prevent challenging behaviour is also a key aspect of my role as teacher- Create resources and think of different strategies to support the pupils in learning how to self regulating and finding coping strategies when experiencing stressful situations.

I would love to support your children to go through their daily task and activities as well providing the appropriate tools and strategies to help them feel emotionally regulated and ready to learn or simply be happy ! :)

My Experience

Special Need Teacher- the Garden school (ASD) (SEN)- London- September 2020 to present
Role: Class teacher- Team management

Unqualified Special Need Teacher- The Garden school (ASD) (SEN)- London: September 2018 to September 2019
Role: Class teacher- Team management

Teaching assistant- the Garden school( ASD): - January 2017 to September 2018
Role: Support class teacher

Teaching assistant via Career Teachers
St John Jerusalem - London - November 2015 to December 2016
Role: One to one support (ASD)

Special Needs Teacher- Extra curricular
La Clairière- Secondary school - Belgium, Brussels - September 2015 to November 2015
Role: Teaching and learning independent skills to youths and young adults with Down syndrome

Educator specializing in psycho-educational support
La Clairière "CJES " - Belgium, Brussels - June 2015 to August 2015
Role: Support and design activities for young children with various specific needs- Autism, down syndrome, pradder willi syndrome, behaviour disorder.

Trainee educator specializing in psycho-educational support
La Clairière- CJES Daycare - Brussels - September 2013 to December 2013


Trainee educator specializing in psycho-educational support
IRSA- Institute Royal For Deaf and Blind - Brussels - January 2012 to March 2012

Babysitting Family & Friends from ages 3-12 since 2008.

EDUCATION
QTS- School direct (Qualified Teacher Status) 2020
Cambridge English Entry Level Certificate in ESOL International B1 in English
Cambridge - Brighton
2015 to 2015
Bachelor's degree in Educator specializing in psycho-educational support
HEB defré- Haute école de Bruxelles - Brussels
2012 to 2014

SKILLS
Psychology, Communication, Personal development, Teaching, Mental health, Adolescents, Childhood,
English, French, manage and prevent challenging behaviour

My Qualifications

Bachelor's degree in Educator specializing in psycho-educational support.

My Availability

Week days after 4:30pm
Weekends

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no yes yes
Morning no no no no no yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 09/02/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £35.00 per hour

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.