Avatar for u.screenName }}
3.33 stars (3)

Childminder in London Borough Of Hackney

Usually responds within 30 minutes

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2019 Last Updated Aug 2020 Last Login 22 Sep 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Flexible Hours

About Me

Introducing the re-opening of my setting:

I am a Ofsted Registered Childminder that has been working alongside a private Nursery, previous to now opening up my service of childcare to full time as a childminder, I am a Happy, Positive and Nurturing person, using my experience and creativity to create a high quality provision within my home. I am a mother of one and live in a lovely bright and welcoming Converted Victorian property. The setting provides a nurturing environment in which the child is considered an important individual. The overall aim is to create a safe and secure home from home which meets the physical, emotional, social and intellectual needs of every child.

A bit more about the setting:

My setting is now re-open to the public, it is a bright and airy space, which is well equipped and provides a safe, stimulating environment where children can enjoy growing into confident, independent and sociable young people. The setting has the aim of giving children opportunities to develop holistically alongside their friends. I use engaging activities and experiences, emphasising on individuality and child centred flexibility, adapting interests into planning, and finding innovative and exciting ways to deliver the curriculum (The seven areas of Learning and Development).

I have over 8 years of experience in working with children, most recent being in a private Nursery for the last four years, with the responsibility of 7 key Children, covering transitions, from settling in, to school readiness. At the setting I provide three meals a day and snacks based on a healthy and nutritious diet. Most of the food provided will be organic and locally sourced were possible.

There will be lots of opportunity for messy play and expressive arts and design. Previous to joining the sector of working with children and families, I studied Art and design as a student and still very much enjoy it. There will be lots of opportunity for messy play and expressive arts and design. Communication and Language and Mathematics are prioritised in a practical way in all play activities. Promoting and encouraging children's learning through play, having them think for themselves and supporting sustained shared thinking, as part of their individual learning development growth.

There is a selection of parks super close to the setting where children who attend can have access to nature, providing the opportunity to and accommodating physical exercise and exploration of the natural environment outdoors.

My Experience

8 years + working with Children, the last four years being at a private Nursery.

My Qualifications

Cache Level 3 Early Years Educator Diploma.

Level 4 QCF Award qualification Social care with Children and families.

Training in:

Pediatric First Aid

Level 2 Food Safety and Hygiene for early years settings.

Supporting Children with Speech, Language and Communication Needs.

Safeguarding Children and Child Protection.

Delivering the EYFS.

My Availability

Cherry Blossoms Childcare services, opens from 7.00am until 7.00pm Monday to Friday. Flexibility available.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 14/08/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £8.00 per hour

My fees include healthy balanced diet meals and high quality provision.

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 18/07/2020)
  • First Aid Certificate (added 18/07/2020)
  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 18/07/2020)


Below are the latest reviews for Sophia. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Sophia’s home was extremely clean and well organised. She had soft play and lots of toys for the children. She takes them out in a large buggy each day which is great. She was really passionate about the home cooked food that they eat and seemed keen to help with the children’s development. Unfortunately Sophia didn’t have availability for when we needed but I would have been very happy sending my little boy to her.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Freya86 about Sophia on 16/09/2020

Sophia was brilliant in all our dealings with her. A total pro - honest, smart, caring, calm, accessible. She has a wonderful little space in a gorgeous Victorian house on a quiet road in N16, tailored to provide the children with lots of educational and creative play. It's so incredibly clean you could have your tea off the floor. We were about to sign on the dotted line when our son got a fluke place at a local nursery. We were genuinely torn because Sophia felt like such a rare find. We opted for securing that elusive nursery place, but I'll always slightly regret not having had the chance to have Sophia in our lives!

The other review on her page seems completely at odds with the experience we had.

  • 4 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 4 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Lilli E about Sophia on 15/08/2020

We thought Sophia and her home were great when we first met her, so we agreed for her to care for our son 3 full days a week starting in Sep this year (2019). My husband and I had arranged new full-time jobs catering around this agreement and a 2-week holiday just before the setting in period only to receive a whatsapp message from Sophia that she won’t be taking our son in her care anymore. No explanation, not even a phone call, just a short and vague text.
I’m very disappointed in her behaviour and lack of professionalism and consideration for us as a family. I would not rate her character for this job.

  • 1 stars Overall

by Kat about Sophia on 28/08/2019

Response by Sophia on 20/07/2020:

Thank you for your kind words Kat, in regard to how you felt about our initial meeting and the arrangement of the setting I provide care in. I am sure it is with regret that you have displayed a review that is equivocate. Your contract was terminated due to there being a breech. The reason for Registered Childcare providers like myself using such materials as a contract is to provide security for both parties involved. You were very aware of the terms and conditions of this contract made and choose not to adhere to it, therefore the arrangement resulted in termination. I am very professional, reliable and fair, having much experience and knowledge in this sector, hence the idea of this endeavor. If the matter here is in relation to securing a place here at the setting for your child, surely you would have fully completed what was set out in the contract made and paid your reservation fee. Instead, you chose not to and avoided communication for several days, going on weeks. At this point in time, the setting was new and due to open a month later, with lots of interests from parents wanting a service. It was after many attempts of trying to contact you thorough calling, that a text was delivered and followed by a written letter. It was only then that a response was provided from you. For the provider to be able to deliver notice of termination there has to be a breech. If there was no breech, then you would have been entitled to the service arranged and set out in the contract made, for at least 4 weeks, but this was not the case! In fact because of your lack of professionalism and consideration for the provider you loss your placement here at the setting.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.