5 stars (5)

Private Tutor in Royal Borough Of Kensington And Chelsea

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2020 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 22 Oct 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
History Tutor
Art Tutor
A-Level
Further/Higher/University
Psychology Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Cookery Tutor
Statistics Tutor
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor

About Me

*Currently, due to the pandemic, I am only conducting online tutoring sessions*

I am a highly experienced academic tutor with numerous years of active experience tutoring children, teenagers and university students. Over the course of several years, I have tutored over 60 students one-to-one with each of them showing significant progress, as well as, thoroughly enjoying the lessons.

I’m an American student studying Psychology at University in London. Being a Psychology student, has enabled me to gain an understanding of children's varying learning styles, and how to mould my teaching strategies to best suit each individual child's strengths and style. Throughout my educational career I have obtained top A+ grades, and plan to attend medical school in the future. I am very academic-orientated, and hold education as a top priority.

Hence, why I am an official Maths and Writing tutor for University students, but I have also tutored countless students at primary, middle and high school level. I am extremely familiar with KS1, KS2, and KS3 curriculum/syllabus. Whether you require assistance alongside homeschooling, "target tutoring" to strengthen your child's weaker areas or someone to work through your child's schoolwork with them, I can definitely help! I specialise in Maths, English, Reading and Writing tutoring, however, provided the appropriate materials and syllabus I can successfully tutor in any subject. Through Childcare.co.uk I hope to find more amazing students to tutor and academically advance! Please get in touch ASAP if you're interested or have any further questions!

My Experience

With over four years experience, I have privately tutored numerous students in the past. I am currently online tutoring (via Zoom) over 20 students aged 3 to 15 years old. My tutees have shown significant improvement in their grades. One of my most recent tutees, went from achieving F grades to B+ grades within a matter of weeks. Although, online tutoring is deemed an 'untraditional' method of tutoring, I personally think it renders much, if not more, academic improvement than face-to-face sessions! It also eliminates the hassle associated with travel time and costs, and allows your child to learn in the comfort and familiarity of their own home. It is also safer for both parties, as you are not allowing a stranger into your home and I do not have enter strange homes. All subjects can be taught via online tutoring, including handwriting and speech! I aim to make my tutoring sessions as interactive and enjoyable as possible, to ensure my tutees are engaged the entire time; this includes, the use of various colours when illustrating on my online whiteboard, playing relevant educational games at the end of every session and incorporating creative aspects into the sessions (art projects, journaling, fictional writing, posters, etc...).

In terms of lesson plan, I create individual, personalised schedules for each of my tutees. I do much preparation/planning prior to each session, which requires great time and effort. This ensures they are progressing in the "target areas" and are on track. Therefore, my lesson plans are all completely unique and geared towards each individual student; this allows for maximum success. You can provide me with schoolwork to work through with your child, or I can find/create Year-appropriate curriculum (worksheets, activities). Either way, your child will further their learnings.

I also have extensive experience with Special Needs (SEN) children; these include, Autism, ADHD, dyslexia, dyspraxia and Fragile-X.

Prior to the Coronavirus situation, I was an after-school tutor for four children aged 4 to 12 for almost seven months; I would help them complete their homework, explain concepts to them and do additional practice problems to solidify their learnings. I have the most tutoring experience with primary-aged children and middle school students. However, I have also privately tutored 16 students at University level, with each of them achieving at least a B+ in their final exams.

In terms of non-academic tutoring, I have undertaken a Chefs course at West London University and run an online baking business/social media account. Having taken numerous courses, I am very experienced in baking and possess many "tricks of the trade", therefore, I am confident in providing baking and cooking lessons.

My Qualifications

I am DBS checked as I am currently a Math/Writing tutor.
Completed a University tutoring training course.
Chef course qualification from West London University.

My Availability

I am available for online tutoring sessions seven days a week (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 14/10/2020

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

My tutoring rates depend on the rigour and depth of the subject being taught. More advanced or higher-level subjects will call for a higher cost. Keep in mind, you are paying for the time and effort I put in to ensure your child's success.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for S_online. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Serena is punctual, excellent teacher, very patient, knows her staff. Helped my daughter in so many ways, also helped her with self confidence.
Taught my daughter via Zoom for 3 months.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Rosemary about S_online on 06/09/2020

Serena was taking my 6 year old twice a week during the summer. I was concerned about online/ virtual teaching but she is amazing and goes through a wide range of activities to keep him engaged and interested. His handwriting which was our main focus has improved. She was nice and calm but firm.

Even as school resumes, I look forward to working with her going forward and would recommend her for any parent looking for a tutor for their kid(s)

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Communication

by OLU about S_online on 30/08/2020

Sareena is a first class teacher who has been helping my son with his school work,She has truly given 100% and explained everything in details. I am delighted to meet such individual and I hope to carry on with lessons as soon as my my circumstances change.once again thank you soo much for your hard work and your time and effort.
Amir

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Amir about S_online on 03/08/2020

Serena is a first-class tutor who goes the extra mile to help her students. She Is very dedicated to her tutoring and helping to achieve full potential. I highly recommend her.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by andreaf about S_online on 13/07/2020

Serena was teaching our two children (Year 1 and Year 3) via Zoom while they were not in school due to the lockdown. Serena was always well prepared for the lessons with a range of activities tailored to each child. She was happy to follow the school programme and concentrate on what I thought was important for each child. Serena is very professional, calm and friendly. She engages well with children and has a positive attitude. I would definitely recommend her and would use her services again in the future.
Thank you for your great work, Serena!
From Julia, Amelia & Thomas

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Communication

by Julia_St about S_online on 05/07/2020


Response by S_online on 06/07/2020:

Hi Julia,
Thank you very much for your extremely kind review! I am pleased that both you and your children enjoyed my sessions.

Thank you again!
Serena

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.