Avatar for GvnhillK
GvnhillK
image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

Nanny in Glasgow

Babysitter in Glasgow

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Sep 2020 Last Updated May 2022 Last Login May 2022

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Hotel Babysitter
Tax-Free Childcare
Emergency Babysitter
Bedtime Nanny
Key Worker Childcare

About Me

*PLEASE CONTACT FOR CURRENT AVAILABILITY - TIA!*

Hello, I'm Katherine, though I go by Kay. Originally from a small seaside town on the west coast of Scotland, I've now settled in the Southside of Glasgow where I've lived for the past 7ish years in a lovely tenement flat with my partner and our two rescue cats.

For many years I've juggled various different & competing responsibilities (caring, work and education) and while I'm not quite done with that as I reached the close of my 20's I decided that it was time to take a step back and make some progressive changes to my current setup.

As an individual I consider myself to be sensitive, responsive to the needs of others, passionate about equality/inclusivity and a multi-talented multi-tasker. I enjoy interior design (particularly period interiors), cooking & baking (we've always got something marinating, proving, brewing, or pickling in our kitchen and visitors are well fed and watered!) and walks in the park with a good podcast (usually true crime, psychology or something related to the history of medicine). I thrive when being challenged and appreciate any opportunity to learn, so I'm always working on a new skill or researching a new topic to keep my mind engaged. At the moment I'm attempting to master DIY in our new home (emphasis on attempting!).

In terms of childcare, I view the responsibility as not purely for child(ren) alone, but as part of something that supports and contributes to the achievements and well-being of those that hold positions within the wider support network/familial unit. For this reason I am keen to establish a bond with parents/carers in much the same way as I would with their little one(s).

My Experience

I became a young carer for my mother shortly after entering my teens. At the same time I stepped in as a substitute parent for my siblings and continued to fulfil this role for over a decade. While this was a difficult and certainly unconventional setup to grown up within, it contributed greatly to the person I am today, and I remain particularity grateful for the myriad of life skills that this experience rendered. Although I no longer fulfil the role of primary carer, I am thankful for the effect this part of my life has had on drawing out the nurturing, compassionate and patient elements of my personality - which I count as some of my best qualities.

This experience, combined with a natural inclination for caring roles, set me up as a first-choice babysitter for friends, family and colleagues, which I've always been happy to add on top of various different personal/professional commitments over the years.

In recent years I acted as an ad-hoc nanny for my employer (as an extension to my primary role as a private EA/Special Project Manager) and provided care for children from ages 2-4 and 4-6. This was an unexpected, yet extremely enjoyable aspect of my role and building a relationship with the children was a total delight. Over the last 1.5 years I've acted as a nanny providing routine support for a toddler (since 10 m/o) - we've bonded amazingly well and witnessing him progress into a fully formed little person has been fantastic. However it is now time to start introducing nursery, so I'll be reducing my hours within this role and opening my diary further to additional clients.

In terms of age ranges, I am comfortable & experienced in caring for babies and children from 6+ months up to secondary age. Unfortunately I am unable to drive, though I'm more than happy to stroll around the city and hop on and off public transport if needs be - love a nap walk come rain or shine! I recognise the importance of creating a consistent and safe environment for a child, so if parents/carers have a particular approach or philosophy that they follow in their parenting style please direct me to this and point out books, articles or blogs that you'd like me to read if I'm not already clued up - I'm always keen to learn and acknowledge the value in establishing an 'in sync' approach to caring.

I also have some experience of tutoring over the years (mainly at secondary level with English, Social Sciences and Business Administration) so I'm handy to have around for any homework needs! Coming from a family of fantastic teachers, for a long time I assumed that I'd follow this same career path, though traditional schooling today would probably not be for me in a professional sense. However, tutoring has allowed me to fulfil some of this desire to provide tailored educational support and guidance in a somewhat less austere environment.

My Qualifications

I have a Masters in History and a post-graduate degree (in an adjacent subject) from the University of Glasgow.

I hold various healthcare qualifications gained during my time spent working as a Healthcare Assistant/Dispenser in the field of community pharmacy. In addition to this I have an ECDL, TEFL and bookkeeping qualification.

I am fully PVG checked and registered with a childcare service in Glasgow, so can accept childcare vouchers as a form of payment, or can provide invoices to those parents/carers who can reclaim childcare expenses through work/DWP.

If there's any specific training, or research into particular parenting styles, that parents/carers would prefer me to undertake, please do let me know and we can have a chat about your specific wants & needs.

My Availability

While my availability is technically only part-time, my current commitments can be undertaken on a fairly flexible basis. I am therefore happy to engage in discussions with parents/carers on their individual needs and can offer a good degree of flexibility to support various schedules and requirements in patterns of support. I'm also happy to take on ad-hoc work/secondary nanny roles should this be of help to parents/carers who are looking to establish a wider pool of childcare support.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no yes yes yes yes
Morning no no no yes yes yes yes
Afternoon no no no no yes yes yes
After School no no no no yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 09/05/2022

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £11.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £11.50 per hour (net)

My fees (please see above for standard 1x child base rate) are negotiable depending on the needs and requirements of parents/carers. I am registered with a childcare service in Glasgow and can therefore accept childcare vouchers as a form of payment should this be helpful for parents/carers.

I provide invoices for those who can reclaim childcare costs via their employer or Universal Credit.

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml Childminding Agency Certificate (added 07/09/2020)
  • PVG Check (added 07/09/2020)
  • UK Passport (added 07/09/2020)
  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 06/09/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.