5 stars (6)

Childminder in Knaphill

Female Non-smoker Member since Oct 2011 Last Updated Jul 2020 Last Login 03 Jul 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Free Smear-Test Childcare
Key Worker Childcare

About Me

I have worked with children all my working life, starting with being a live in nanny at the age of 17 to being a childminder. I have seven children of my own aged 32, 24 (both now married and left home ),22,20, 9 year old twins and a 6 year old. I also have three grandsons aged 6 and a half, 4 and 16 months and a grandaughter aged 2 years .I am used to juggling children of various ages.My husband works night shifts so is around in the early morning and late afternoon to help with our own children.

I thoroughly enjoy my job and work with the parents of any child cared for to ensure the parents wishes for their child are carried out. I provide a daily diary for the younger children and I actively engage the children in learning through their play experiences. I attend toddler groups, baby gym and soft play as well as parks and woodland walks to help the children learn to play alongside and with other children in a child friendly environment.

I take regular photos of the children and will give the child their album to take when they leave my care.

I feel that continuity of care is extremely important for children and it is vital for them to make strong secure bonds with both myself and the other children in my care so that they will grow to be happy secure young people in the future with the ability to form good attachments to others.

I encourage the children to fully participate in activities which sometimes means lots of mess...paint, playdoh, muddy puddles.

We currently have two cats a hamster and two goldfish who the children have really taken to and this enhances their learning about animals and how to care gently for them.

I have special needs experience of dyslexia and aspergers. I also have childminding special needs experience of global developmental delay.

I am happy to cook for the children I care for and offer healthy food and snacks and will take any allergies and dietary needs into consideration. I currently care for children who have gluten intolerance and dairy allergy. My own son has a nut allergy so I am also trained in the use of an epi pen. I am also happy to accommodate parents who would prefer to bring their child's food with them.

Harriet and I have decided to concentrate our care on the younger children therefore at present we are not taking on any school age children. The only school age children we have here are my three boys and one little girl who was a pre schooler with me and is now in reception.

My fee includes all meals, snacks and childrens activities eg soft play, baby gym.

Update to my account

My youngest child has now started at school full time.

My daughter Harriet is now working alongside me as an assistant when needed and brings her daughter Niamh with her to work. Niamh is a very sociable ,friendly little girl. Harriet worked in a day care nursery before becoming a nanny. She has worked for 2 families, the first with a 3 month old and a 4 year old and her last family who have 1 year old twins and a five year old.
Harriet is dbs checked, holds a first aid certificate, safeguarding and is nanny ofsted registered. She is undergoing the ofsted registration process herself too for childminding.

The maximum amount of children under 5 we will care for is 6 including Harriets daughter.


UPDATE TO CHILDCARE 12/05/2020

WE HAVE NOW BEEN INFORMED BY THE GOVERNMENT THAT WE CAN RE OPEN OUR CHILDCARE FACILITY FROM 1ST JUNE 2020.

DUE TO SOME OF OUR FAMILIES NOT RETURNING TO WORK WE NOW HAVE SPACES AVAILABLE ON MONDAY, TUESDAY AND WEDNESDAY WITH IMMEDIATE START DATES.
WE WILL BE BASING OUR CURRENT CHILDCARE AT THE HOME WITH PLAY IN THE GARDEN AND A LOCAL WALK WITH SAFEGUARDING OUR CHILDREN PARAMOUNT TO OUR CARE.


AT PRESENT MY YOUNGEST THREE CHILDREN WILL BE AT HOME UNTIL THE SCHOOLS RE OPEN. MY HUSBAND PAUL IS AT HOME 3 DAYS A WEEK AND THEREFORE IS ABLE TO LOOK AFTER OUR BOYS GIVING ME MORE TIME WITH THE LITTLE ONES.

My Experience

I have looked after children from aged 12 weeks to 12 years and thoroughly enjoy the challenge of the job. I have also helped childminder friends with their little ones. As a live in nanny I formed a strong relationship with the child in my care and also with his parent which I feel is vitally important so as to be able to offer continuity of care to any children cared for.

My Qualifications

7 O levels
first aid
child protection
Diploma in Home Based Childcare level 3

My Availability

My working hours are Monday to Friday 7.30am til 5.30pm

I offer term time only contracts with no fee in the school holidays if required as well as full time contracts.

I accept childcare vouchers and am registered for the government tax free childcare.

I offer the funded 15 free hours and the funded 30 free hours if parents are eligible.

I take and pick up from The Knaphill Lower and middle school and the nursery attached to the school.
I am happy to take and pick up from Holy Trinity playschool.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 03/07/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.00 per hour

£6 per hour .

I offer a sibling discount

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • First Aid Certificate (added 30/11/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 30/11/2019)
  • Inspection Report: Ofsted report (added 28/11/2019)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Nickie W. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Nickie and her daughter Harriet provide a “home from home” experience for the children they care for. My son started with them when he was almost two, and stayed for around a year. In that time he grew to love Nickie and Harriet, and became firm friends with Harriet’s lovely little girl. I felt confident that my little boy was being loved and cared for as though he belonged to them.
Nickie was more than happy to accommodate his allergies and eating issues, which made such a difference to him and us. She really went out of her way to make sure he felt included and ate the same or similar to the other children.
Nickie has ample transport and safely takes children on lots of really fun days out. My son enjoyed trips to various soft play centres, baby gyms, playgrounds and parks.
Communication is great, and Nickie is happy to chat at the end of the session, but also writes the day’s activities and food/nappies down in a personal diary.
I couldn’t recommend anyone more, and we were all very sad when the time came to leave Nickie’s care.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Nickie W on 20/04/2020

Nickie looked after my daughter from the age of 9 months - 2.5 years, and right from the start my daughter was always happy to go to Nickie's to play. This makes your day so much better (as mum) to know that your child is happy and children are only happy in an environment where they feel safe and loved.
I have no doubt as to Nickie's care and affection for the children in her care, she goes above and beyond in looking after all of them.
My daughter loves Nickie and indeed the members of her family that live there, and it was a very sad day indeed when the time came for my daughter to move on to Nursery.
I would recommend Nickie as a childminder to anyone who is looking for childcare, she is so passionate about what she does and so caring. The children definitely come first and are so well looked after and entertained. My daughter built some lovely little bonds and friendships with the other children there and it is a time I will always cherish. She gave such a great start to my daughter not only in terms of 'education' but also in letting her know that leaving mummy isn't a scary thing to do - it's so much fun to go and play with others.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Nickie W on 02/04/2020

My 2 & half year old daughter has been with Nickie since she was 7 months old, she settled in very quickly & still loves to go to Nickie’s where she has fun, learns lots & is treated like one of the family. I sometimes think she’d rather stay there than come home with me when I go to pick her up 😊
Nickie has always been very accommodating & flexible, I feel very lucky to have her as my childminder.
My Daughter also loves Nickie’s daughter, so I’m pleased to learn they will soon be working together.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Nickie W on 01/05/2018

If you are looking for an excellent caring and dedicated childminder for your children then look no further. My daughter has been with Nickie since 10months old and absolutely loves going. She has learnt so much and so have i. She gives 100% dedication to the children in her care and teaches them soo much as they grow. She has treat my daughter Reya like one of her own and as a first time mum also made me feel at ease to leave her. Nickie takes them to softplay, days out, park trips etc they always doing something lovely and fun. I cannot recommend Nickie enough shes is an excellent experienced childminder. My daughter is now coming up 2 in august and still loves to go..... she doesnt even notice when i leave she has that much fun. I look forward to reading her daily dairy to see wjat my daufhter has been up to that day and it always makes me smile. I could not manage without Nickie and would recommend to anyone ☺

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Nickie W on 19/04/2018

Nickie looked after my boy since he was 4 months old. He is now 8 years and still wants to go there in the holidays and spend time with her and her children. (which speaks for itself!!).

I could not have found a better surrogate Mum whilst I was at work knowing my son was in such brilliant care and being treated like another member of the family whilst incorporating any needs I may have had for him.

I respected Nickie's advise and experience on most of my son's different stages of development and still do!! She has become a great friend and can't thank her enough for all she has done to assist my son in being the well-rounded boy that he is today!!!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Nickie W on 09/07/2012

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.