
Childminder in High Wycombe

Babysitter in High Wycombe

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Oct 2010 Last Updated Nov 2020 Last Login Nov 2020 Email

My Summary

First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Childminding Agency Registered

About Me

My name is Emma and I have worked in childcare for fourteen years. I'm a very bubbly person who loves working with children, watching them grow and progress in their development. In my spare time I like to keep fit and love being outdoors. I enjoy music and dance and it’s great to have the opportunity to integrate my hobbies with what I do at work, keeping children healthy and happy.

I am a very sociable person, I feel that I communicate well with children and adults, and I am able to articulate myself clearly and sensitively in all situations. I love my job as a child carer, I have lots of energy and many fun ideas of activities to do with children!

My Experience

My interest in Early Years first developed during secondary school where I helped my mother with her music classes for children and through this I knew that I wanted to look into a career in childcare. At school I achieved Sports Leadership award. Once a week I would visit a local primary school to teach the lesson plans I had prepared for them. These experiences increased my confidence and interest in working with children and encouraged me to continue my path to becoming a childcare professional.

Since then I have taken on babysitting jobs in the day and evenings, which have included taking the children out for walks, cooking dinner and putting them down for a sleep.

In August 2006 I started working in a private day nursery, completing my NVQ Level 3 and stayed there until I was promoted to Deputy Manager in another of the company's nurseries. Over my time in the nursery I also began my Foundation Degree in Early Years.

In February 2011 I decided on a career change and was excited to become a nanny! I stayed with the family for 4 1/2 years until the family moved back to America in June 2015.

After they left I worked for a number of families over the summer taking them out for days out and having lots of fun in the sun! I stayed with these families until January 2016 when I started with my newest part time family.

I then began working for 4 families throughout the week as a self employed nanny, with a nanny share some days and during the holidays.
It was quite a unique arrangement however it worked brilliantly and the children struck up wonderful friendships.

Since I began my career as a nanny I have studied with the Open University and in June 2014 I gained my BA Degree in Early Years. In June 2015 I also completed by BA Hons Degree in Early Years.

I began my childminding journey in July 2019 and have absolutely loved the journey so far (despite lockdown getting in the way!). I do not currently have any of my own children (other than the one I'm currently cooking!) and started childminding purely for my love of caring for children and to create a warm, loving home that other families can be a part of.

When I started up I was lucky enough to have my lovely nanny children help to choose the resources and toys for my setting and now have lots to offer the children....maybe too much!

We have a mud kitchen, sand pit and lots of outdoor toys to enjoy. All of the children particularly enjoy whizzing down the garden on ride on toys (even the 10 year olds!). We also live just up from Hughenden park, and have woods to explore behind our house so lots of opportunity for outdoor play.

I am currently expecting my first baby due February next year so am planning on slowing down for a few months, however am (already!) starting to organise my return in time for the summer holidays and for the September new starters!

During my childminding journey I have seen how babies have enjoyed and thrived being in the company of older children and this is just want I want for my little boy when he arrives.

I have my mother Val (child music teacher extraordinaire!!) and partner Josh (secondary school teacher) as registered assistants to give a helping hand too.

I offer before and after school care for Curzon c of e in Penn Street as well as Eyfs places during the daytime. The little ones love doing the school run and seeing where the older children go to school so this works really well for all!

My Qualifications

In 2006 I began my NVQ Level 3 working at a nursery with children aged 8 weeks – 5 years old. During my learning, I attended training courses on many topics. I have been able to develop my knowledge on children’s behaviour, and been able to implement different techniques from these courses in my daily practice. The speech and language course I attended helped me to support children with language difficulties, working alongside speech and language therapists.

In 2009 I began my studying of the Early Years Foundation Degree with the Open University. The course so far has developed my skills in critically assessing and reflecting on my practice. It has also given me great insight into how to encourage all children to participate and develop their social skills in different situations. It has also opened my eyes to the different ways we can include children in making decisions about their own lives.

In June 2014 I received my BA degree in Early Years, and completed my BA Hons Degree in Early Years in June 2015.

Since then I have continued with my professional development by completing a number of courses.

I also hold an up to date DBS check, Paediatric First Aid and all necessary certificates to start childminding.

My Availability

I operate my contracts on a term time basis so that parents are not paying for childcare they don't need. However, I do open in the holidays and spaces are filled on a first come first serve basis.

I will have availability Monday to Thursday for Eyfs children and wrap around care for children of Curzon C of E from September 2021.

Weekends and bank holidays on request

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School yes yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no yes yes no
Last Updated: 18/11/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £6.00 per hour

Hourly rates and day rates available, happy to discuss.

Hourly later £6.50 but discounts available, please enquire.

Also available as an ad hoc nanny for £12.50 per hour

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.