Avatar for Sarah


Nanny in Rushden (also available for babysitting)

Female Member since Aug 2012 Last Updated Mar 2024 Last Login Mar 2024

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience

About Me

Hi my name is Sarah,

The reason why I became a nanny is because I love working with children and enjoy taking children out and about so that they can become more active and learn through play. I found out that Nanning was for me after working at a children's camp in America in summer 2006. I now have over 14 years experience in the childcare setting whether it be as a nanny or in a nursery.
My knowledge about the needs of a child is not only textbook knowledge but also years of practical experience, which leaves me feeling confident that your child will be in the best hands whilst in my care, no matter what their needs are.
I consider myself to be an extremely fit and active person as I play hockey and I teach dance. I am reliable, trustworthy, caring, and hardworking and consider myself to have a good sense of humour.
I love watching children grow into successful beings at a pace that is right for them. Constantly reflecting on how they view the world helps me to understand their thoughts and needs which enables me to teach them at the most appropriate level.
I have a nurturing and calm yet firm approach when appropriate. I teach from the heart and understand that children need structure, routine and of course, manners are a must! Children need to know that they need to treat and respect others as they wish to be treated.
I believe children need time and space to be children. I try to always encourage independence where possible by offering choices, letting older children do as much for themselves as possible etc, as I’m aware of how great this is for their self-confidence.
Boundaries are so important to children. I prefer to acknowledge the good and discourage the not so good - I follow the discipline philosophy of the family and have enough experience to gently offer alternative effective methods if needs be. Manners are a must! I know that boundaries and rules need to be explained in such a way that the children understand them. I am very fair, but am firm if/when needed.
With all my jobs I feel it is extremely important to see the children learn through play and develop their fine and gross motor skills.
But most importantly, have fun!

My Experience

Duties in all my childcare roles include:

Care of children
• Lots of fun and cuddles are a must!
• Making sure the children are always safe.
• Working together with the parents as a team.
• Communication and sending photos.
• Respecting my boss’ wished and their home.
• Handing over the day when the parents come home.
• Getting a weekend hand over.
• Meal preparation.
• Weaning and introducing new foods.
• Nappy changes.
• Toilet training day and night.
• Teething.
• Caring for a child with leukaemia.
• Caring for a child with hearing impaired.
• Caring for a child with anaphylactic allergies.
• Helping parents with routine
• Balanced diets.
• Sterilizing bottles, preparing bottles and bottle feeding.
• Caring for a sick child.
• Taking children to their vaccinations, Hospital appointments, Eye tests, Dentist, walk in Clinics, Doctors. Taking babies to be weighed and arranging these appointments.
• Taking temperatures, giving the appropriate medications.
• Sleep training.
• Making sure the children’s bedrooms and play areas are tidy.
• Clothes, shoe and uniform shopping.
• Bathing the children.
• Helping a fussy eater eat normally.
• Taking old toys and clothes to charity shop.
• Nursery, school drop off and pick-ups.
• Teaching and encouraging the children to have good table manners and use cutlery properly.
• Full nursery duties including washing, ironing and cooking.
• Play dates.
• Swimming lessons and personally teaching children to swim.
• Football and gymnastics classes.
• Park and museum visits.
• Arts and craft activities.
• Listening to children’s needs.
• Food shopping.
• Teaching children to read and write.
• Cooking and baking with the children.

Nursery and School duties
• Preparing the children for stating nursery and school, packing school bags, getting uniform ready.
• Ensuring all uniform is correctly labelled and fits well.
• Walking/ driving to school or nursery.
• Helping with reading, homework and projects.
• Taking the children too and from school clubs.
• Thank you cards for partied and schoolteachers.
• Hosting playdates.
• Talking to the teachers.
• Proxy parenting.
• Helping with forest school.
• Going into nursery for stay and sing.
• Helping with homework.

Now the fun stuff
• Going to the library for rhyme time.
• Going not museums.
• Going on holiday with the families.
• Hosting and organising birthday partied.
• Taking children to birthday parties.
• Teaching the children to swim.
• Teaching the children to ride a bike or scoot.
• Taking the children out for lunch or dinner.
• Paddling pool parties on hot days.
• Going for ice creams.
• Teaching the children to cross the road safely.
• Going to pottery painting shops.
• Strawberry picking.
• Farm and zoo visits.
• Going to the cinema or theatre.
• Ten pin bowling.
• Making and playing with play dough.
• Picnics.

Other ways I can help the family
• Running errands, picking up the dry cleaning.
• Collecting and sending parcels.
• Food shopping orders.
• Taking the car to the garage and getting the car cleaned.
• Buying and wrapping birthday and Christmas presents.

My Qualifications

Child Care Learning and Development Level 3
Child Psychology Level 3
Counseling Children and Adolescents O.A. Dip
Teaching Assistant Level 3 O.A. Dip
Cultural Awareness in Safeguarding
Food hygiene.
Child Behavior
12 Hour Pediatric First aid with epi pen

My Availability

I am available to work Monday to Friday. Flexible hours. Starting immediately.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 24/03/2024

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (net)

To be discussed with parent/s.

My Documents


No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.