Avatar for dorothy179
dorothy179

Nanny in Canterbury

Babysitter in Canterbury

5 stars
(1)

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Member since May 2014 Last Updated Jun 2022 Last Login 26 Jun 2022

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Mothers Help
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Potty Trainer
Bedtime Nanny
Free Smear-Test Childcare
Key Worker Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hello my name is Dorothy
Highy exprienced nanny with over 8 years experience.
Currently I work part-time for two families in Canterbury and Bridge.
I also work part-time at Bridge Pre-School.
You are most likely to meet me and the children I look after at various Stay and Plays in Canterbury or Play groups, toddlers Cove, Wingham Wildlife park, Badgers Hill farm, Local Libraries or taking stroll alongside stour river or visiting John Danes Gardens are amongst the things we get upto.
Am always on the look out for fun and engaging activities locally to take the children too.
Reading is one of the other things I enjoy doing with children.
My other passion is food and I love health eating so preparing a simple meal from scratch isn't a problem at all.
I genuinely love children and caring for them comes very natural to me. I am able to work under pressurised environments and can effectively contribute to the smooth running of a busy household.
As a person I volunteer at various organisations within the area.
I like keeping fit thus the reason I spend most of the time outdoors with the children.
Was studying a degree in Early Childhood Studies but due to COVID I put that on hold.
This September will be embarking of completing my final year.

My Experience

I have been working as nanny for the last 8 years.
Not only that I have a grown-up child. Over the years I have been a great source of help to both my family and friends.
I can look after children from birth to 16 years.
Over the years I have worked with 8 families of which am still in touch with all of them.
My roles were have included, doing school runs, taking children to various after school activities.
Getting children ready for school,meal preparations, toileting, feeding.
Arranging activities for children to go out.
Assisting with homework. Overnight care, travelling nanny, attending parents evening on behalf parents and giving feedback. Arranging play dates.
Plan engaging activities for children.
Assisting parents with weaning, potty and sleeping training.
One of the things I pride myself in is being adaptable and flexible.
As every family and child are different with different needs and preferences. Besides that being able to build a positive rapport with other family members of each family are my greatest asset.
Currently my roles from both families include food preparation, getting children ready and taking them to various activities.
Assisting with feeding, medication as one of the child I look after takes medication and its very vital that its done in a timely manner.
Doing activities with them as directed by health professionals like physio etc.
The other child I look after has undiagnosed condition so they need a lot of support to do most activities.
Attending trainings with various professionals is part of the my role with both families. to ensure that I can assist the parents in the implementation of activities recommended.
These professionals include, physiotherapists, speech and Language therapist, health visitors and paediatricians.
Baring that in mind that both these children have different requirements and both other have other siblings so tailoring their care and making the children feel present has been a key that makes quite unique.
At the pre-school. I work alongside other members of staff.
My roles include setting up activities as directed by the senior practitioner, preparing and supervising snack and meal times, toileting and nappy change.
Helping children to settle in as they come in observations.
Engaging children in various activities, singing, reading, painting, cutting.
Liaising and assisting the senior practitioner with any activities that need to be done. And making sure that children I look after safe all the time.
Prior to embarking on a career in childcare I used to work in finance before my the company went into administration. I decided to change career and I haven't regretted at all hence the reason I decided to embark on a degree in childcare.
Since becoming a nanny I have undertaken several childcare courses and this has helped to broaden my knowledge in childcare and also enhance my desire to see that I make difference with every child that I look after.

My Qualifications

Understanding Leadership & Management Level 4
Healthy & Safety In Early Years Level 4
Recognising and Supporting Children with Special Educational Needs (SEN) Level 3
Safe Guarding for Children Level 3
Observing Children Level 3
Partnership With Parents Level 3
Paediatric First Aid
Food Hygiene Level 2
Child Protection Level 2
Preventing Bullying Level 2
Equality & Diversity Level 2
Child Exploitation & Online Safety for Education
Common Core Skills & Knowledge
Safe Sleeping For Babies-Reducing The Risk of SIDS (CPD)
Early Years Nutrition Level 3

My Availability

Currently fully booked till End of July. Haven't had a holiday in 2 years so am taking August off.
Currently interviewing for part time roles for September start onwards.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes no no yes no yes
Morning yes yes no no yes no yes
Afternoon yes yes no no no no yes
After School no yes no no no no yes
Evening no no no no no no yes
Overnight no no no no no no yes
Last Updated: 17/06/2022

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £13.00 per hour (gross)

Negotiable Depending on hours and days required and number of children.

My Documents

  • Basic Disclosure Check (added 16/02/2022)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for dorothy179. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Looked after our three boys very well. Kept them safe, fed them and put them to bed. Also washed up after them. Will highly recommend 😊

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for P and T P and T about Avatar for dorothy179 dorothy179 on 27/04/2022

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.